The night before.

16 Jun

I’m doing something scary tomorrow.
Now, I’m at The Mothership. It’s nearly nine p.m. and it isn’t even nearly dark yet. My cat’s getting braver by the day and has ventured outside even after the growling tree-crackling storm just an hour ago. I miss his silly, insistent affection even though he walks across the keyboard when I write.
I’m sore across my chest from yesterday’s workout and comfortably full of baked beans and bacon. Not the best thing for my diet exactly but damn it, I love bacon and tonight I needed some kind of treat. I’d have liked company, a film and a game but the diaries didn’t align this time. So I’m doing my last emails for the next few days. Seeing my last pieces of the internet. And Netflix- can’t forget Netflix… I’m strictly offline until next week.
The windows are narrow in this room so I’m looking at little slices of sky and tree, with glittering crystals from the reflection of a lampshade. Birds, too. Mog- stay off them, there will be tuna in your bowl when you come in…

Back on the boat, my windows are open to air the place. There are fresh vegetables in the fridge. The water tank is topped up. I changed the sheets on the bed. Things I won’t want to do when I arrive home tomorrow night. Over here, my yellow polka dot mug’s empty but I’m too cosy to go all the way downstairs for the kettle and anyway, stubbornness is keeping me at the emails. Admin first, then film and coffee. The glad, whimsical little thought occurs to me that I am grateful my only dilemma right now is “Natural Born Killers” or “Maleficent”.
Especially when this year has seen some of the nastiest, most shocking, desperately sad things I have ever seen crammed into six months. If anyone’s listening, please stop it. I started watching The Supervet to remember all of the good people still out there but then remembered I’m not great with scalpels and (real) gore… and had to laugh at myself for thinking that was a good idea. šŸ˜€ Considering the unrest, the emotional whirlwind the world seems to be in right now, outside is silent and as still as the storm earlier was violent. And that reminds, me- I’m doing something scary tomorrow…

Scary doesn’t mean bad, by the way. This is good, and exciting, and progressive, but until it’s over then everything else is holding its breath with me. There’s something new I’m doing- a project that I’m waiting to launch but that has to wait, for now.
I have about a million things to say and tell you. Adventures in the pipeline and pictures to show you, but those are stories for another time. Right now, some ‘old’ photos by Steve Prue that I never showed you. Sadly the only set I ever saw from this shoot…
Given my style these days, they could have been taken yesterday.

Wish me luck- all will be revealed…

ROSWELL xxx

RoswellIvory-dirtybasementZIV-011
RoswellIvory-dirtybasementZIV-007
RoswellIvory-dirtybasementZIV-004
RoswellIvory-dirtybasementZIV-015
RoswellIvory-dirtybasementZIV-022

One Response to “The night before.”

  1. projectshadowlondon June 16, 2016 at 11:05 pm #

    Whatever it is you are doing, best of luck! And let’s hope the next six months are better for all.
    Reaching out with big support hugs.

Leave a Reply

