Time again

28 Dec

It’s become a Roswell tradition that at this time of year I do a questionnaire I found on livejournal ages ago. It’s crazy how much has changed: for example,2008’s ‘greatest achievement’ was ‘doing a photoshoot in another country'(!) This year, it was ‘realising the rat race was making me miserable, turning my back on it and making happiness my priority’.
As this was a relatively late realisation, I missed out on a lot of blogging and there are so many things I wish that I had covered!

Sooooo… before I show you two totally new looks from earlier this year… here are some things I wish I had blogged about (in no particular order).

1) White Feminism
How do you stop an army in its tracks? You set the fighters against each other until they forget what they were fighting for.

As a white woman and feminist, I was furious and confused when I first heard the term; what do you mean, feminists exclude black women? Every time I say that women should have equal rights, should I be adding “and black women too” as though anybody not white is a separate species?? Because that’s what it sounds like. Then I read something that explained the term and though I stand by my opinion that it is antagonistic, I can now see why it came about.
Here’s an example:
Most sources say that US women make 78 cents for every dollar a man makes but that only applies to white women:
African-American women make 64 cents to the dollar and Hispanic women make 54! The fact that the higher figure is the one quoted ignores all women who are not white. This kind of exclusion is what is meant by white feminism.

I can see how the ignorance of many white people must be frustrating beyond belief (I still have a lot to learn even though I’ve opened my eyes a bit)! but I don’t think the solution is to lump all feminists-who-are-white together under a misleading umbrella term,  creating even more division along racial lines! Surely we (humans of all colours) know by now that is a really shit idea.

SO… In future when I write about feminism, I’ll check if other women have different experiences based on their ethnic background- and encourage other feminist writers to do the same.
Yes, I’m aware that being white gives me privilege, and that gives me a loud voice (as does having a very well-read blog), so I would like to use it to do as much good as I can for as long as there is inequality.
Patrick Stewart says it better than I ever could so here he is:
toqlycwqcbqegnrb0enf.png

2) The SwitzerScot adventure
For the first time ever (and making a horrendous luggage blunder) I went from a week’s shooting in Scotland and one full night changing airports to three days in Switzerland: one shooting, one volunteering, one chilling. I wish so much that I had told you about all of this:
– I stayed in a converted church and visited an Escher exhibition next door!
WP_20150714_16_59_30_Pro.jpg
– I went to a cat cafe with a fellow model I’d only spoken to online before, and united in crazy-cat-lady-ness
– I took myself to an art gallery and found this beautiful angel…
WP_20150717_11_49_24_Pro.jpg
-… and the worst boob job in Greek Mythology! 😛
WP_20150717_12_06_21_Pro.jpg
– I went to Aberdeen and watched for dolphins. Look at these rock balancing sculptures!!!
WP_20150719_14_28_22_Pro.jpg
– I spent the night in three different airports and arrived here:
WP_20150720_14_49_38_Pro.jpg
– I did a photoshoot! (during and after)
WP_20150721_17_01_32_Pro.jpg  WP_20150721_17_38_43_Pro.jpg
– I felt completely welcome in my Swiss hippy commune
– I swam in a lakes while grebes dived nearby, their chicks on their backs!
– I visited a beautiful grotto and saw THIS VIEW from my bedroom window!! The bird in the sky is a red kite- one of my favourites. The little huts down there are inspiration shelters and the edge of the garden I worked in.
WP_20150722_08_59_55_Pro.jpg
– I came home and did my hair like this:
WP_20150731_16_58_26_Pro.jpg WP_20150731_16_55_22_Pro.jpg

3) Caitlyn Bloody Jenner.
While I think that Glamour made a wonderful, accepting and clear gesture by giving the award to a trans woman, was there really nobody more deserving than Caitlyn Jenner???!
Though she appears to have taken criticism on board, quipping that the hardest thing about being a woman is knowing what to wear was absurd. I don’t watch the Kardashians but having seen enough adverts during which she purrs about what a girly day she’s going to have with her shopping and her spa treatments (because that’s what girls do, right?), I can quite easily believe that wardrobe troubles are the hardest thing about going from a life of rich white male privilege to a life of rich white female privilege.

These people may have fewer social media followers than Jenner, but here are three alternative trans choices for the award:
(Criteria: talented, interesting and with recent achievements as this is an “of the year” award)
Janet Mock– a writer, trans activist, former sex worker and recently (2014) a contributing editor at Marie Claire magazine.
index
Annie Wallace– actress and musician, currently playing Sally St Claire, in Hollyoaks. The first trans woman to play a trans character in British soap history, and the inspiration for Coronation Street’s famous (and beloved) trans character Hayley Cropper
V6ELOM9g
– Geena Rocero– model and TED speaker, founder of advocacy campaign Gender Proud (2014)
geena-rocero.jpg
Actress Laverne Cox isn’t included here because she won a Glamour award last year.

4) The Happiest Thing
Earlier in the year I met a person who can’t drive but wants a Lamborghini, and can’t swim but wants a swimming pool. It made me realise that I need no other material possession to feel successful, other than my home and my laptop.
I love books. I love armour and accessories and chainmail and coffee and incense and notepads and shoes and they make me happy, but they’re an awesome bonus. And cheap compared to a Lamborghini… 😛

Oh, and cats. I love cats. (Photo by Cornerstone)
IMG_0038 1.JPG

I could carry on- there’s so much I’ve done and not said this year, but it’s time I did some other things. 🙂

What better way to look back, than with some vintage style photos from JRT photography?! MUA= me, hair credit pending
jrt_roswell-11.jpg jrt_roswell-17.jpg
jrt_roswell-23 jrt_roswell-24.jpg
jrt_roswell-1.jpg jrt_roswell-15.jpg
As were were shooting with the same technique used with old film stars, most of my make-up was black (blusher and all) so it showed up against the flash.

An early Happy New Year, everyone. See you on the other side!! 😉

ROSWELL xxx

5 Responses to “Time again”

  1. christhegoth December 28, 2015 at 6:29 pm #

    Yeah, I’ll bite.

    I like the outfits by the way. All looking very scrummy 🙂

    With the questions:

    1) Feminism is now fragmented. That’s why I refuse to get involved. I’m a huge one for equality, but I just can’t stand how some ( but not all ) feminists have turned the Equality Movement into a cash-cow and place to stir up drama.

    Real stirring up ( to get people thinking ) is fair play. I am HUGELY impressed by the Arab and Russian Feminists too. But… UK Feminists are increasingly embarrassing. Making rubbish up just to sell a book is not how you do Human Rights work.

    2) I’m just jealous here. Guilty as charged m’lud. I miss being able to travel ( injured legs innit ).

    3) Caitlyn what-ser-name is not better than a Female Cop who takes a bullet to save a kid. I’m afraid this is Fashion ( that I love ) going wrong because of luvvies chasing money. Gay makes money etc etc.

    Caitlyn should not have been given that award. Being trans is NOT how you be a mighty woman. Actually doing something is how you be a mighty woman.

    4) The Happiest thing? I used to be like you ( same happy-things too ), but then I was inured. Now I love my Home, but… Wish I could travel more.

    You’re in a good place. Enjoy it 🙂

    Take care 🙂

  2. Tony Segura December 28, 2015 at 8:44 pm #

    I think there’s 2 reasons Jenner got that award is 1) she started out as a famous man and 2) she’s part of a famous family that’s famous for being famous (I hope that made sense).

    • roswellivory January 8, 2016 at 10:30 pm #

      Absofuckinglutely. That’s the problem- it’s all about followers and fans rather than actual achievements at the moment.

  3. projectshadowlondon December 29, 2015 at 8:37 pm #

    This post fills me with happiness and inspiration at every turn. Hope you have a storming 2016, you thoroughly deserve it!

    • roswellivory January 8, 2016 at 10:31 pm #

      Aww! Thankyou so much! *bounces around* Same to you.

Leave a Reply

