Peculiars

8 Dec

“Peculiar” is one of my favourite words. As well as meaning odd or unusual, it also means something distinctive from others in character or nature. That would be me then, ha ha! 😀

Many of my friends know I collect strange words (and funny things they’ve said*) in the back of each diary I have and today I found another: “submechanophobia” It’s a fear of man-made things underwater!
I actually love submerged creepy things and mentioned that HERE. Still, let me repost the pictures…
Ship by Ruslan Eliseev. Polar bear (which I am aware is not a man-made thing) by Paul Souders.
sunken-submerged-ship-in-the-antarctic
the-water-bear-american-paul-souders-took-his-zodiac-boat-to-hudson-bay-in-canada-during-mid-summer-and-waited-patiently-for-this-polar-bear-first-spotted-on-sea-ice-about-30-miles-offs

It’s a funny thing, when you’re a bit of an oddball anyway and even aspects of your own personality seem to clash! I’m a very proud hippy at heart and spend as much time as possible in nature. I hate building on green belts, wish I could imagine a world in which war doesn’t exist (but sadly I can’t), and don’t get me started on overpopulation! On the other hand, the road warrior in me shouts “bring it on” and is inspired by sitting on derelict rooftops with various beaten-up towns below. Like Batman with heavier shoes. 😛

When I’m booked for a photoshoot, unless there is a very clear brief I often turn up with my suitcase full of things and we take it from there That’s what happened earlier this year with photographer La Pelicula (see, there’s another reason for the title!) and make-up artist Stephanie Berika. We combined our outfits and ideas, and got what now looks to me like a visual representation of two very different sides of my character! 😀

Fiery hippy! Wearing one of my favourite dresses, by Falcieri Designs
Roswell Ivory 21032015_011bis3.jpg Roswell Ivory 21032015_032bis1.jpg

Fashion armour
11218973_10155580099775282_1746355743447096666_n 5
Roswell Ivory 21032015_169bis1

It’s the latest in Uruk-hai couture! 😛
3f05c0dc75926004ee3b7404922b2ce6

I’m working for one more week and then I’m taking a nice long holiday over the Christmas period. I can’t wait to decorate my boat with a load of tacky tinsel and a weeny tree! As the calendar year comes to an end, I’m looking forward to sitting down with the new spiced coffee I bought and reflecting on the past year as it’s been an eventful one.
I made a very early New Years resolution a few months ago, which was to dedicate more time to this blog. Less “number crunching” and votes-collecting, more writing. Reading back on the last few posts I’ve made (even the sad ones) has reminded me how much I enjoy blogging.
There’s so much more to come!

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. a bit of silliness before I go on my last tour of the year:
Outtakes!
Roswell Ivory 21032015_134 Roswell Ivory 21032015_149.JPG
I swear Stephanie is adjusting my hair on the right, not punching me in the face- which would explain why I’m smiling about it!

* For example: “If you vajazzled your foo, that would be a foofurore”

Leave a Reply

