Back in Black (and white)

29 Oct

Well, I didn’t run away and join a hippy commune (though tempting), I wasn’t pregnant (seriously??), I didn’t quit modelling (hell no) and I didn’t get abducted by aliens (oh, crazed person just outside Pittsburgh, your emails make me laugh… and fear for my life).

I’ve been busy (nothing new there) but I also had an epiphany during a bittersweet sunny morning at a beer festival in the mountains and decided that I was spending too much time trying to ride the social media beast and not enough time actually living the life I wanted to blog about. I was constantly setting myself up for failure based on numbers while ignoring the sights and experiences that are literally all around me. Just as I got all of that sorted out in my tiny mind, I had my heart stomped on and lost a friend in Afghanistan a week later. Hence, the vanishing act.

I don’t want to dwell too much on the past unless it is really necessary so I’ll move on…

I want to thank the lovely people who not only remembered my birthday but sent me messages, cards and presents! Sadly, I can’t see an address on some of the packages so I can’t send out my usual personalised thankyou cards! If you sent me a present, please, please mail me letting me know what you sent me, along with your address and I will send you a belated thankyou. 🙂 ❤

In the past few months, I shot the album cover for a rock band, met several model friends in person after many online chats, explored the forests of Norway, spent three wonderful and healing days in a hippy commune in Switzerland and achieved the splits once again. I’ve posted some snapshots of my time away below:
WP_20150720_14_49_38_Pro
Switzerland. I used to read a series called “Puddle Lane” as a small child, which featured a quest for the Blue Mountains. Well, I found them! 🙂

WP_20150808_10_34_35_Pro WP_20150807_20_47_58_Pro
Belgium! Shooting location and off-duty bouncing around. I CANNOT WAIT to show you the pictures from this trip… 😉

WP_20150823_16_16_45_Pro  WP_20150822_18_44_47_Pro
Norway’s forests and cyperpunk underground! 😀 Sadly I saw no moose on this trip, but maybe another time. Moose are one of my ‘spirit animals’ (I’ll tell you why one day) so I consider any time I see one to be special.

WP_20150906_09_04_39_Pro WP_20150904_09_45_49_Pro
My view, the moment of realisation. And on the right, doesn’t this tree look like an octopus going “and one more thing!!”

So, back to work! 😀

I’ve been lent some latex by Lady Allura (yes that is latex on the left!) and bought myself a stripy latex catsuit that will feature in a blog soon. For now, here are some behind the scenes snaps…
WP_20151007_19_00_50_Pro WP_20151015_15_11_10_Pro
That, on the right, is a shark shaped seat. The studio we worked in does a lot of childrens’ portrait photography so is full of crazy things to pose with between ‘serious’ shots.

I’m posting photos wayyy out of sync at the moment but am trying to post them in a way that fits with what I’m blogging about at the time, so here are my most recent photos- taken only a few days ago by my host “Elegia“. She has a really distinctive style and so I’ve wanted to work with her for ages! (Though I’d suggest opening the link at home- she does some very beautiful, very erotic projects).
I have always loved seeing polaroids develop and being in the mental place I’m in now, it was rather therapeutic watching Elegia place these little blank cards down, which slowly began to show my face in black and white. Like a literal representation of me returning to the world after a long absence. During the shoot, I wanted to show a slightly more ‘raw’ version of me so spent some time not posing. The results I got are exactly what I had hoped for and I love them. 😀

“An Army of Me” 😉
WP_20151025_12_19_06_Pro
WP_20151025_12_16_33_Pro
Ros2 Ros3
 Roswell2SM Roswell5SM
Roswell4SM
Ros7 Ros6


It’s good to be back. 😉

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. And one more thing…
WP_20151025_06_44_08_Pro
Dawn shoot, freezing cold, worth it. ❤

6 Responses to “Back in Black (and white)”

  1. christhegoth October 29, 2015 at 10:32 pm #

    Losing a friend in Afghanistan: I’m sorry for your loss. I recently lost a Service User to suicide, & it does take it out of you.

    Hope things improve for you,

    Christian.

    • roswellivory November 1, 2015 at 8:32 pm #

      Thankyou so much and I am also sorry for your loss. 😦
      I’m saying goodbye this week and I know it will be a beautiful service.

      • christhegoth November 2, 2015 at 10:17 am #

        I hope it goes ok.

        As for the Heart-Stampy bit there is a lot of that around these days. People seem to be far too demanding IMHO.

        Just my tuppence. Again, I hope you heal 🙂

  2. projectshadowlondon November 1, 2015 at 2:02 am #

    So very glad you’re back and has to be said, you are looking great! Glad you managed to get some cool stuff in and can absolutely understand the brief hiatus all things considered!

    Hope your year finishes strong 🙂

    • roswellivory November 1, 2015 at 8:34 pm #

      Thankyou so much- me too. 😀
      New blog coming in just a sec.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Tale of Two Captions. | Roswell Ivory - November 11, 2015

    […] it odd sometimes how something that had been personal to you becomes a subject of discussion […]

Leave a Reply

