Beauty in Shadow

14 Apr

I’m back from a lovely sunny few days in Somerset with Anita De Bauch and am now sitting down to catch up on my emails and organise my next tours, which will be Berlin, Ireland, Manchester and Norfolk.

First though, I’d really appreciate your support with a couple of things I’m doing. Pay attention at the back there! 😛
1) I’m in a competition to win a custom-made latex catsuit!! (As you may guess, this is something I would love to have.)
All you need to do is click the link here and click ‘vote’. That’s all. No signing up to anything.
http://www.latex.at/en/all-models-voting/?id=187

2) I’m in the running for the award of “Fetish Model of the Year”! If you could please follow the link here and vote me as highly as you think I deserve, that would rock as well! It’s a little less user-friendly- you need to cycle through the pictures, which are displayed at random, but the plus point is that you get to see more beautiful ladies.
http://www.european-fetish-awards.com/fetish-model-of-the-year-2015/

There you go! Any help would be appreciated.
________________________________________________________________________________

So, as the days are getting ever-so-light now, I struggle with conflicting wants and wishes! On one hand, I love the clouded days in which I write with a mocha nearby. On the other hand, I sit on my roof and watch the world go by on sunny days. It’s only then that I can truly get to know the creatures and life around me- and on that note, Mr Toots the kingfisher is back! Apparently he returns on bright days so I’m staking out the bank.

Somerset rolled with the hills, caves and gorges we lack in Milton Keynes and apart from seeing one of my best friends “in her natural habitat”, it was a relief to finally shoot outdoors again without fear that I’d freeze to death! So many lambs everywhere, lovely food, kind people- and we found a slow worm in the garden. Look at her little face!
WP_20150410_18_17_33_Pro
Anita christened her ‘Fern’ and I added ‘The Turbo Snake’- in case she has a complex about being a slow worm. (They are neither slow nor worms- they’re legless lizards.) 😉

I also saw pipistrelle bats flittering around at dusk! I couldn’t capture them on my slow phone, but it’s lovely to see them again after what has felt like a long winter. They’re the smallest found in Europe and a friend of mine used to call me a pipistrelle when I was a thirteen year old Goth…  a teeny tiny little bat. Ha ha ha!

Another thing I’m noticing more and more is that the sunsets are drawing out and are even more orange. Despite the Spring frolicking I’m doing at the moment, I can’t help but think it would be perfect for a Film Noir shoot or two in London, or maybe a Milton Keynes underpass. (Just a quick snap taken outside Wagamama…)
WP_20150407_20_05_18_Pro
I love the moodiness and atmosphere of Film Noir shoots! I shot these back in January with David Morley, in Saracen House studio.
P1240185-2
P1240161-2
P1240197-2

A lot of you have been asking about the petition results from my blog “Between My Legs”. Sadly, petitions about Jeremy Clarkson were more popular and now that the general election is upon us, politicians have better things to do- like bitch and moan at each other on National television… I’ll blog properly about the wider issue when I have a little more time, but I promise this is not forgotten.

So, for now I am going to enjoy the light and practise not feeling guilty for being out in the sun. We humans do need our sunlight hours, after all. And when the shadows lengthen, I’ll write my little socks off (when I’m not stretching, that is. I can get my foot under my chin now!)
These were taken by Simon P Shaw last year, in Blackbarn studio and perfectly capture the peaceful kind of darkness.

SS1_4389
SS1_4402
SS1_4438
SS1_4507
SS1_4428

I’ll leave you with some lessons learned in one of my favourite childrens’ books. A sticker for guessing which! 😉
Dark is: exciting, kind, fun, necessary, fascinating, wonderful, beautiful.

Until sunrise, people!

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. I just got a message from another of my best friends- the olive-skinned gypsy nude model Madame Bink. I’d like to share her blogpost with you- please have a read and see if you can make her smile today.
http://madamebink.blogspot.co.uk/2015/04/a-real-pain-in-the.html

9 Responses to “Beauty in Shadow”

  1. christhegoth April 14, 2015 at 9:31 pm #

    The second & third film-noir shots are cool 🙂

  2. DAVE MARQUES April 15, 2015 at 7:13 am #

    You got my vote Ros!

    ________________________________

  3. Frivolous Monsters April 15, 2015 at 5:04 pm #

    Why is the kingfisher called Mr Toots? I don’t think I’ve ever seen a snake, so would be hard-pressed to tell that yours wasn’t, and I’ve tried to take pictures of bats with my camera. They were going around the carpark of the graveyard so I figured I was in with a chance. Total rubbish. The focusing was a joke as they moved so fast. Perhaps that’s autofocus for you.

    p.s. Voted in the above. I noted that you’re doing quite well in the second one although I did find one girl scoring higher than you. Good luck.

    • roswellivory April 21, 2015 at 6:15 pm #

      My mum was describing the kingfisher’s call phonetically. (TOOOT!) So he’s Toots.

      Awww, I love bats! They are a nightmare though and I have a litle cameraphone. And thanks so much for the votes.

      R xx

      p.s. A snake has no eyelids and a very forked tongue.

Leave a Reply

