The Dark and the Light

3 Apr

A belated Happy Ostara to you all, and Easter wishes to Christians. πŸ™‚
WP_20150225_15_52_31_Pro WP_20150322_11_07_05_Pro

I’ve had a hell of a week and haven’t felt much like blogging, so I’m making extra effort on this one while listening to one of my more eclectic playlists (Pearl Jam, hippy folk music and truly trashy current hits).

Not to dwell on the negative, but just about everything that could go wrong went wrong and I ended up slouched on the back of my boat looking like a wet sponge covered in mascara. Not to mention my faith in humanity taking a bashing as petitions centred around Jeremy Clarkson got more attention than Female Genital Mutilation… Thanks to some wonderful friends and their good wishes, I’m feeling a lot better and almost ready to face the world again.

So… HAPPY OSTARA. It’s also known as Eostre (as in, where we get the word Easter from- Easter is in fact based on this festival.) It’s also known as the Spring Equinox- the days are now officially longer than the nights! It’s a time to celebrate mating and matching, birthing and hatching and all that is light and happy, so I’ve decorated my boat with daffodils and pictures of March hares, and gathered feathers from the marina birds. I’m also burning a lovely beeswax candle Anita De Bauch left me when she stayed to boatsit while I was in Belgium.

Today’s blog’s going to be a little different as I’m going to share little moments and memories rather than my usual ramblings. Here goes…

THE DARK:

Behind-the-scenes from a luxurious hotel shoot with Luci-Alice and Anita De Bauch. I’m still choosing the pictures from this shoot- it’s always extra fun when shooting with friends.
WP_20150303_20_06_33_Pro

A misty morning in Holland as I prepare to leave crocus-strewn Haarlem for a fetish shot further North.
WP_20150311_09_00_14_Pro

This spine I discovered while on a nude shoot on location! Can anyone tell me what it is from? Both photographer and model would love to know. It was large- about the length of my hand! A rabbit? A hare?
WP_20150313_14_37_27_Pro

This picture taken by Ben Ernst, in an artists studio. The artist painted big, colourful abstract pieces just for fun and this is actually the reflection of one of his pieces. While I posed, I could hear birdsong from the woodland outside and was actually very happy and at peace despite the ‘sad’ curled-up pose.
11073959_849050961821665_1700697432_n

Another one by Ben Ernst- this time in a sculpture park by the sea! All the pieces were immense, made with metal and stone, and I loved the weathering on them. As I paint and draw too, I have a lot of respect for sculptors for leaving their work outdoors. It must be a strange experience seeing your work changed by the elements: I’d be back every day to check on them and read them a bedtime story! πŸ˜›
11076267_852693018124126_3902858162502344221_n

THE BETWEEN:

Ben Ernst again, and back in the artist’s studio. I LOVE these- I think because of the slightly otherworldly lights above me… my science-fiction brain says I look like I’ve just been- or am about to be- abducted by aliens. πŸ˜€

“I-Β  I wanna look into the sky and I see a strange light, everything is alright, everything is alright
Newton Faulkner- U.F.O. (listen to the lyrics- there’s wine and an anal probe mentioned. Ooh-er, Mulder and Scully… LMAO!)
10950027_849050971821664_1939844385_n

11081580_849050978488330_355334239_n

THE LIGHT:

Being taken on a foodie tour of Brussels centre with the day’s photographer Kirsten (pictures coming soon- they’re some of my new favourites!)Β  I wished I could bring these home but they’re meringue and I didn’t think they’d survive the journey.
WP_20150318_19_36_44_Pro

Strutting on the catwalk for designer Am Statik in a custom-made outfit. Isn’t the little cape gorgeous??! πŸ™‚
11050178_715392181905339_5673638513863847085_n

A view or two of the location I found the spine in. The lake looked so blue and beautiful behind me but I didn’t fancy a dip- it was freezing!
WP_20150313_16_33_01_Pro
WP_20150313_16_33_20_Pro

A photo taken a few months ago, by Henry Murphy. I love getting the chance to play with my hair and make-up. Looking back now, I think I look like a Winter faerie-thing dreaming of Spring!
_HMP7961

Don’t you just love the spot of light just above my elbow? Triangular Roswell! πŸ˜€
Photo by Sense8
48683-664756607

And lastly… this outtake still makes me laugh- I look like the make-up artist is punching me… but I’m happy about it! Ha ha ha!!! πŸ˜€ I’ll show you these photos soon too. They rock.
Roswell Ivory 21032015_149

I’m off- I want to drink tea, eat one of the big crunchy apples I bought today and watch something silly.

ROSWELL xxx

18 Responses to “The Dark and the Light”

  1. christhegoth April 3, 2015 at 11:10 pm #

    You have ink on your aft? I did not know this.

    I tested Haggis & Leak Cottage Pie. T’was very yummy πŸ™‚

    • roswellivory April 21, 2015 at 6:01 pm #

      Oh, yep. Had it done when was 15 and a Morticia Addams lookalike.
      Sounds interesting!

      • christhegoth April 21, 2015 at 6:35 pm #

        Mmmm, ‘tiche πŸ˜‰

        Yeah. Get a tinned haggis, mix it with a tin of baked beans, some sweetcorn or peas, finely-chopped onion, a generous squirt of ketchup, freshly cracked pepper, and simmer it all up with extra water until you get a nice thick Cottage Pie base.

        Coat in separately boiled up mash ( avec decent lightly-salted butter ), and then finish off in the oven. Really tasty I found, and a lot less fattening than traditional Cottage Pies.

        I waited until I was 36 before getting ink. When I felt my midlife crisis hit I needed to zing myself up as I could not dance properly any more ( my old expression, along wiv ze clobber obvs ). So I kept the clobber and added 2.5 grand of Ink.

        It worked. I feel weird enough again πŸ™‚

        • christhegoth April 21, 2015 at 6:39 pm #

          On this occasion I substituted the Onions for Leaks obvs. It’s a general recipe that does work though πŸ™‚

  2. cark1 April 4, 2015 at 9:14 am #

    Good quality on the photos, as usual. Regarding the spine; I have googled it and it looks like the spine of a shrew.

    /Carl

    • roswellivory April 21, 2015 at 6:02 pm #

      Thankyou! πŸ™‚

      Unless the shrew is a R.O.U.S. (The Princess Bride- Rodents of Unusual Size) I hope not, lol! It was the length of my hand! πŸ˜€

      • cark1 April 24, 2015 at 11:39 pm #

        Ahh, that lovely film again. I must see that again.
        Well, it could have been a mole. Technically, shrews are not rodents but related to moles, who belong to a different mammal family.

        • roswellivory May 2, 2015 at 1:56 pm #

          I’ve had it checked out- it’s a bird skeleton, possibly a duck. πŸ™‚

  3. Catriona Stewart April 4, 2015 at 10:06 am #

    I love that triangle shape you did, the muscle and skin stretching and contracting. Beautiful!

    • roswellivory April 21, 2015 at 6:06 pm #

      Thankyou! Me too- I was so happy when I saw it! πŸ˜€

  4. Tony Segura April 5, 2015 at 12:33 am #

    Love the pictures a usual, you should post that shot of the spine on deviantart.com, someone there should know what that is.

    • roswellivory April 21, 2015 at 6:07 pm #

      Thanks! I’m actually booked in London on Friday so I think I’m going to trot off to the Natural History Museum and see what they think there

  5. Russell Smith April 5, 2015 at 8:57 am #

    Hey, had a rough few weeks myself so solidarity hugs! On the plus side, I’ve been blogging again at long last so from a certain point of view, things are picking up πŸ™‚
    Hope you got a tasty brew in- do you have a favourite variety of tea? And was your viewing suitably silly? πŸ™‚

    • roswellivory April 21, 2015 at 6:10 pm #

      Aww, thanks! I’m glad things are picking up for you.
      Lol! It was indeed, and I have a whole shelf of tea to choose from! πŸ˜€

  6. peterjbatty April 5, 2015 at 10:16 am #

    Lovely photos as always! I had a bit of a search around for the skeleton, but came up at a loss. I think it might belong to a bird rather than a mammal though.

    • roswellivory April 21, 2015 at 6:10 pm #

      Thankyou! πŸ˜€ It’s bizarre, isn’t it??! The more I search, the weirder it looks.
      Hopefully the guys in the Natural History Museum can tell me what it is. πŸ™‚

      • peterjbatty April 22, 2015 at 12:52 pm #

        Good plan. Please do report back and let us know what it is.

        • roswellivory May 2, 2015 at 1:57 pm #

          Will do- I doubt much will be done until after the election but there will certainly be a follow-up. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

