Casual clothing shocker!!!

4 Feb

I’d been sitting on this news for a while… I was contacted by the ladies at Glamour magazine last year as they wanted to feature the Shaun Colclough story. I agreed on the condition that any of the other women involved who wanted to tell their stories got the opportunity to do so as well, and so Annie Moya and Leila Alexandra joined me in a make-up, nails, croissants, salad and glossy magazine session.
Look at the weeny muffins!!!
WP_20141214_008

Freelance modelling is it’s own strange universe and as it’s been my life for so long, it came as a surprise to me to learn that the team had never heard of the websites providing my livelihood. Didn’t know the same ‘industry celebrities’ we all did. Didn’t know the terms we use. I think were were all just as fascinated by each other that day. πŸ™‚ (I’m still tracking down links to everyone- I’ll update asap).

As I get suspended from the ceiling in crazy-gorgeous rubber outfits, shoot inside abandoned buildings and work nude in public streets, I had a bit of a giggle when one of the team wondered if shooting against a deliberately-distressed wall would be ‘too extreme’. Definitely a different world, but one in which the people were all super-friendly, made us feel welcome and had many interesting stories to tell. After the ‘Times Rita Skeeter Fiasco’, I was a little apprehensive about the press but we felt that having Glamour publish our story would give us more of a platform to reach out further, to other women who wouldn’t have been reached by my blog and the first wave of ‘shares’.

So… if you’re new to this blog, hello! It’s lovely to have you here.
If you are an old friend to my blog, you know how I look when I’m not modelling (Mad Max extra or spaceship mechanic*) so here’s a strange sight for you… πŸ˜‰

Pg-96-March---We-took-on-our-abuser_glamour_3feb15_pr_b_960x1440Β WP_20150203_23_30_10_Pro
WP_20150203_23_30_41_Pro WP_20150203_23_31_01_Pro

If you’d like your very own copy, it’s in newsagents now and looks like this:
Glamour-Mar15-Cover_glamour_30jan15_pr_b_426x639
Now, I know a few people have seen the irony in putting our story on the cover next to a “50 Shades” feature, but the thing is it’s the next big film and magazines all exist to sell themselves. I’m personally just grateful not to share a cover with someone who called her child after a direction and whose name begins with K (I don’t want her to get any more google hits by naming her here!)
I am currently writing about what’s so bad about the story (in short, it puts an abusive relationship under the ‘BDSM’ banner which is misleading and dangerous. The bottom line in the former is SSC: Safe, Sane, Consensual). Bear with me, I’m writing three articles at once and am drowning in words!

So… I’m going to make a hot chocolate, eat the mini Green and Blacks bar I’d been saving and read the nearest book that looks interesting. Someone else can provide the words for tonight. πŸ˜‰

Before I go though, here’s a ‘first look’ at my next blog. I’m hoping it will encourage the Spring to come!
roswell_fh12web
Picture by Follyhouse

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. * for the curious, here I am in my own clothes
WP_20131102_020Β WP_20140303_005 10396282_10154381553110221_2794063853921449507_n

14 Responses to “Casual clothing shocker!!!”

  1. christhegoth February 4, 2015 at 4:22 am #

    Flares? Seriously? :p

  2. luka February 4, 2015 at 11:09 am #

    Looking forward to your shades/ssc article πŸ™‚ go get em. X stinking hippy

    • roswellivory February 5, 2015 at 12:12 pm #

      LMAO! Thanking you, hippyface. πŸ˜›

  3. keypad February 4, 2015 at 11:39 am #

    Fantastic Roswell! It was so brave to make the original blog post and even better to follow it through to see this monster behind bars. You’ve saved so many others from having traumatic experience at the hands of this abuser.

    • roswellivory February 5, 2015 at 12:15 pm #

      Thankyou so, so much. I couldn’t have done any of it without the other women who were brave enough to come to court and fight. We need more of them in the world. πŸ™‚

  4. khandiek February 4, 2015 at 11:43 am #

    i am so sorry this happened. you are all warriors fighting back x

    • roswellivory February 5, 2015 at 12:16 pm #

      Thankyou so much, Khandie. πŸ™‚ xxx

  5. danny February 4, 2015 at 11:59 am #

    its great that you and these ladies put ths person were he belongs.lovely piece of writing.proud of you,as always. keep up the good work. danny

    • roswellivory February 5, 2015 at 12:16 pm #

      Thanking you! πŸ˜€ See you soon xxxx

  6. Tony Segura February 5, 2015 at 11:26 pm #

    Drowning in words?!?! Oh noes! πŸ™‚ Hope you remember to come up for air once in a while!

    • roswellivory February 9, 2015 at 12:39 pm #

      Lol! Thanks- I’ll try. I need to do as many commissions as possible though, as my mooring fee is due in and certain expenditures (like the dentist) are making paying it tricky!!

  7. projectshadowlondon February 6, 2015 at 9:43 pm #

    Just posted on Facebook yesterday about 50 Shades, but only because of a merchandise hilarity moment. Was out of town working in Banbury yesterday and went to Tesco for a few bits and pieces. What should I happen to find when I’m looking for some emergency underwear? https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10152537148276876&set=a.10150775682241876.388186.593046875&type=1&theater
    Branded Fifty Shades of Grey boxer shorts. I kid you not. There weren’t even 50 packs of boxers in there or it might have been considered a bargain! Also, far as I could see, inside the box, nothing more than a few sets of grey boxers. I despair, I really do.

    On that note, sterling work both in advance of the upcoming blog and your efforts leading up to that article. You’ve done something very valuable which will be long remembered, I suspect.

    • roswellivory February 9, 2015 at 12:39 pm #

      LMFAO!!!!! Fifty Shades pants!!??? Wow…

      And thankyou so much

Leave a Reply

