Seeds

1 Feb

Today is Imbolc- aka Candlemas aka St Brigid’s Day! Saint Brigid was named after the pagan goddess Bride (pronounced ‘brede’) and her festival represents the beginning of Spring (hooray!) I saw the first snowdrops yesterday, so hopefully the weather should start to get warmer again. I love snuggly days with coffee and a book in front of the fire, but living on a canal boat isn’t the most comfortable in the winter. (Frozen windows, dripping condensation etc etc…) I can’t wait for warm mornings on deck, watching this year’s chicks grow up. (Yes, there will be photos…)
‘Pinch me, I’m dreaming’ has been a common theme these past few months but it finally sunk in that I have somewhere of my own, when I had my best girl Anita De Bauch to stay for a few days. I expected it to be a bit of a squash but while watching a film in the bed-den and surrounded by many forms of chocolate, I realised that we fit perfectly comfortably and perhaps my boat is a bit like a Harry Potter car- it expands on the inside to fit the company!
We spent a few nights onboard, then moved over to the Mothership, split for a few days and met up again in time for a magazine-launch party in a secret bunker. A zombie apocalypse magazine-launch party in a secret bunker… Weirdly, we swapped our usual styles and I dressed as a femme fatale zombie, while Ms De Bauch became โ€œMalibu-zombie-hunterโ€! Want to see?
10922832_1083011195057929_4329894051637406393_n
It was a fantastic night, with much dancing and new music discoveries- though I think my neighbours may now be plotting to kill me (or ban the ‘repeat’ button).

Anyway, back to Imbolc thoughts: the festival is about potential and preparation. It isn’t yet a celebration of Spring’s arrival, but of the potential waiting beneath the earth. Historically, it’s why we do ‘spring cleaning’: fire and purification are part of a pre-Spring ritual!
Tomorrow, I’m going to have a lazy few hours in bed with a book, then clean and tidy my boat from top to bottom, throw out any sad dead plants that didn’t survive the winter and then burn candles because firstly, tradition and secondly, candles are beautiful. โค If you’re not yet on my Facebook page *cough* then here is my living room:
10387226_10155277328015221_3295162250199370026_n

Tim Pile recently sent me a new photo from our shoot among the standing stones in Dartmoor, so I looked through other photos I had from the same weekend. I’ve been thinking about the seasons and about potential, and seeing them all together made this picture emerge:

A seed, an idea, a person. Something developing in the darkness, waiting for its time.
_IGP0913
_IGP0933

Growing possibilities. No longer just a dormant seed or a theory, but a living thing realising there’s a world just an arm’s reach away.
_IGP0846

FREE!
_IGP0161-Edit

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. There’s a secret I’ve been sitting on… look in the bottom left corner. Why not make a trip to WHSmith on February 3rd? ๐Ÿ˜‰
Glamour-Mar15-Cover_glamour_30jan15_pr_b_426x639
p.s. There’s a secret I’ve been sitting on… look in the bottom left corner. Why not make a trip to WHSmith on February 3rd? ๐Ÿ˜‰

3 Responses to “Seeds”

  1. christhegoth February 1, 2015 at 10:56 am #

    That living room has potential, and I do like a good stove I have to say. I have a faux-stove in my bedroom for the fire-effect at night. It’s lovely and calming ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hearth Magiks are important. I recently moved my IT repair bay into the loft so I have some office-space back. It feels more open now in my living & work room, and I feel ready for this years challenges. I’ve got good space already, but a pile of tech in the corner as big as the sofa ate a lot of that.

    I hope your insulation is holding. It’s gonna get colder! Kitchen pikatures next!

  2. Tony Segura February 1, 2015 at 11:49 pm #

    I love the “Free” shot. where was that taken?

    • roswellivory February 2, 2015 at 8:50 pm #

      Thankyou! ๐Ÿ™‚ In the Dartmoor moors somewhere. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

