JFC part 3: The Dangerous Type

8 Oct

New York is said to be dangerous. So is Los Angeles, and so (apparently) are parts of London. That’s fine by me- sometimes you have to visit places that you’re afraid of and trust that you’ll be okay.The vast majority of the time, you will be. Not all of those places exist outside your own mind, but that doesn’t make them any less frightening… or any less necessary to face.
While I hate to start a blog containing so many lovely pictures with something so serious, today, it’s necessary.

Did you (or someone you know) work with abusive photographer Shaun Colclough?
If so, please, please get in contact with me as soon as possible. I cannot say much online for legal reasons, but I need to speak with you.

Thankyou.
________________________________________________________________

It’s interesting hearing the variety of opinions when I mention travelling. One of my best friends (also a model) has slept rough, as well as spending nights in airports and various hostels. (We often compare travelling tips!) Other friends hate the idea of me making the twenty minute walk across town and insist on making the walk themselves to come and get me (logical??) I feel that travelling alone has made me a stronger and more capable person-Β  I know how to get around most countries (Europe and America certainly- I haven’t been properly East yet… though maybe next year?) find a chemist if I’m ill, navigate the Underground in most languages and learn in advance which places really are dangerous. More about that later… πŸ˜‰

I’m currently looking out of the window from my German hidey-hole, where I’m supposed to be writing. (Well I am technically and I’ll just keep telling myself that…) It’s all lit up and I have a feeling that there are some fascinating shops around. I’ll explore properly tomorrow if I have time- I’m racing the clock to get a submission for a writing “competition” completed. Anyway, the thing is, if IΒ  didn’t walk out alone to find out what the cities I stay in have to offer, I wouldn’t see anything and I think it would be a huge shame to have to job in which I travel at least once a month, but yet never get to know where I am.

So… as you know, I went to New York last month. (Or, you’d better know, as I’ve been blithering on about it for ages!) πŸ˜‰ The different districts all have their own characters, which I found surprising as I expected the city (certainly Manhattan) to be very cold and grey. Parts were, and I’ve already had my “trees” rant, but I ended up having my own mini-adventures in others. I was looking at my last set from my shoot with John F Cooper and realised many of the shots reminded me of the places I visited! Here you go! πŸ˜€

Photographer: John F Cooper
Hair/Make-up: Me
Designers credited under the photos

Brooklyn: I did not get one single rude comment about my clothing the entire time I stayed there… but I got enough strange men leering that I felt as if I was wearing this! πŸ˜‰ So I spent most of the trips to the shop stomping down the street with this look on my face! πŸ˜›

Corset: Heavenly Corsets

Upper East Side: while I doubt I’ll see a Gossip Girl type hanging about in stripy latex, there is something very elegant about Anatomic Bomb designs! Shooting this dress some more and in a very different way while on this tour, actually! πŸ˜€

Dress: Custom-made for me by Anatomic Bomb!

Lower Manhattan: Well, of course! It’s the Manhattan Bridge in the background- I was so happy to get to pose with a NYC landmark, and in the nude too, lol! (I also posed with the Empire State Building). Sadly, we were unable to capture both this shot and theΒ  faces of the people in the building next to us, but I assure you it was hilarious!

Broadway: Because I think I look like I’m singing in a musical… possibly about window cleaning and looking stylish. πŸ˜›

Corset and jacket by Twilight Siren

As I have been spending some time with my family recently, I also got to see this terribly dangerous creature. This is Mog. He is very suspicious of my camera and is being bribed with tuna.

… so I was saying about dangerous places.
On my first night in New York, I got lost on a bus in Queens. I had a big suitcase. It was dark. Not knowing what exactly to do, I sat and waited to see a road sign that would tell me what direction Brooklyn lay in. Then I noticed a very nice man who looked exactly like Morgan Freeman and I asked fif he could tell me where I was. He smiled and said (with a voice that sounded exactly like Morgan Freeman) “You’re the stop after me- I’ll tell you when that is. Don’t worry, you’re going to be just fine.”
Thankyou Morgan Freeman, that’s very good advice for life. πŸ˜€

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. have a gratuitous shot of the Statue of Liberty. (Thankyou Paul for the boat trip!)

8 Responses to “JFC part 3: The Dangerous Type”

  1. Liddy October 11, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Oh my God! I know one of those girls! She was in my English Literature class at college…I’d heard she’d become a model when she left college but I’d never actually seen her anything other than an advert in a magazine…I don’t know what her experience was like with him though…

    • roswellivory October 14, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

      Is there any way you can put her in contact with me? It’s very, very serious.

      xxx

  2. Liddy October 11, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    A very lovely ending to a very lovely blog entry! I bet you meet all sorts of colourful people while out and about on your troubles, least to say Morgan Freeman types =P

    Travelling does make you grow up fast. When I first moved to Vienna at 18, I was surprised at how quickly I became self-reliant. It seems like instinct to just use your initiative and get on with things.

    You do have the ideal job, I wish I could float around the world wearing corsets! =D

    And I was also wondering…sorry if it sounds like an odd question, but have you ever been told off for indecent exposure? It’s just you do, do nude shoots in public and you mentioned the facial expressions of onlookers in this blog entry. Or do you have a license to be naked in public? =P …just wondered how it works! =P

    Great photos and great writing as always =]

    xxx

    • roswellivory October 14, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

      Thanks! πŸ˜€ I did wonder if he was a figment of my imagination, lol!

      It’s true- there are so many things I’d have worried about before, but now it’s become second-nature to plan ahead and panic a bit less (she says, panicking about what to eat now the supermarkets are closed, lol!!)
      I would love to visit Vienna- I’m thinking about takinga detour through Prague and Vienna on my Eurotour next year πŸ˜€

      It’s a nice job, but I’m starting to think seriously about how to get where I want to be next…

      And, so far, no. It’s a shame, as I think it would be hilarious! In England, the rule seems to be that as long as no-one minds, everything’s okay. In Europe, people are a lot more relaxed about nudity (ast least, that’s what I found.)

      xxx

  3. Paul Ward October 11, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    The boat trip was my pleasure πŸ™‚ You should have also written about how guilty you were accepting it heheheeh

  4. Liddy October 15, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Haha! You can say that again about Europeans being liberal!

    When my Dad came over to visit me last year in Vienna, he went for an early morning walk (I stayed in bed as I am NOT a morning person) and he came across a group of people just skinny dipping in the Danube!

    But people are like that all the time in Summer over here!

    Is it ok if I send you her facebook page in private? Or would you like me to contact her first?

    xxx

    And come over to Vienna! It’s a beautiful city! And if you do, I could show you all the best places to eat cake πŸ˜„

    • roswellivory October 17, 2012 at 7:40 am #

      Lol! That rocks- I’d totally go skinnydipping in the Danube. (And name an article about it).

      Sure- PM me through my website, or FB. It may be that we’ve already spoken. And thanks. πŸ™‚

      I’m already looking at flights etc for next summer! And Yay for cake!

      xxx

Leave a Reply

