Why I’m glad to be a 90’s girl!

11 Jul

I was born in ’87, grew up listening to bubblegum pop, watching the X-files and haven’t stopped wearing platform shoes since the Spice Girls started. While I’m definitelymore of a Guns ‘n’ Roses and AC/DC girl now, I still have a soft spot for the 90’s (even though it had Oasis and Take That).

This internet meme has been going around for a while and as a Harry Potter fan, Hermione’s another female character making a good role model, as well as Cat in 10 Things I Hate About You. (Still one of the only “chick flicks” I’ll watch)

While having a chat with my fellow 90’s girl and housemate, something I noticed was that although I followed bands like the Spice Girls like a wannabe-cool-person possessed (hey, I was eleven, okay?) I never saw messy TMI relationship stories and bands slagging each other off in the way they do now.
While I know there were “it-girls” at the time, I can’t remember magazines and TV following them with the same obsession that is given to the Kardashians, Jade Goody and other people famous for doing nothing. It never occurred to me that it could be interesting (I think Big Brother has a *lot* to answer for).
I don’t remember it being so important for singers to be ridiculously polished and young- or writhing around on all fours, which is a good thing. Pop music videos were happier! You can take it from me, or click the links below that I dredged up from the dark depths of Youtube. πŸ˜›

Reserved for denim fetishists (unless you also like teenage boys in sloppily-tied bondage)

Nothing happier than dancing flowers (but actually it’s kind of cute)

Well, duh!

Obviously I don’t wish I was back in the 90’s- after all, in more recent decades gay marriage has been legalised in many places, Rage Against The Machine made Christmas number 1, I can wear leather stuff in public without people wondering why my mother lets me go out like that, women’s rights are improving, George Bush is no longer President and there are talks of making ‘ecocide’ a crime (which rocks). Oh, and Florence and the Machine exists, even if rock music hasn’t produced any more Led Zeppelins.

Maybe I’m just being all old and stuff, but it seems to me that 90’s (female) role models were people who did something new, or made a good idea popular (girl power, angry girl music eg Alanis Morissette/Garbage etc) whereas now, female role models are women who fight against the current craze of doing nothing except pouting and wearing make-up.
By the way, if you’re interested in fantastic women, have a look at this page. Some I agree with, some I don’t, and some I wrote. πŸ˜‰

Here are a couple of pictures taken long ago (but not the 90’s!) by Matt Frederick. They have nothing to do with this post. πŸ˜€
Make-up: Me
Catsuit: Kindly lent by Libidex

ROSWELL xxx

6 Responses to “Why I’m glad to be a 90’s girl!”

  1. Romantic Dominant July 11, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    Great post. I’m just glad you are the girl you are.

  2. Alex B. (@AlexB244) July 11, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Ross, what about Soundgarden? Remember Black Hole Sun?

    • roswellivory July 17, 2012 at 8:12 am #

      I do, but I only heard the song much later on. I didn’t grow up to it πŸ™‚ xx

  3. Liddy July 12, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Brilliant blog entry!
    I went to a 90s themed party at a local club the other night and it was great! Everyone was going crazy and feeling all nostalgic, not to mention dancing dreadfully!

    I was only born in 1992 to but I still remember a lot about the 90s, I used to have a Spice Girls poster in my room where they were advertising Pepsi =P

    Have you heard of / read 50 Shades of Grey? It’s just an adult version of Twilight and it is very, very, very badly written! Don’t read it, it’s not worth it and when I heard the author say they were inspired by Stephanie Meyer then I knew it was definitely total rubbish!

    Buffy was way better!

    Keep writing! I’m ashamed to say I have writer’s block and have abandoned my blog recently =[ I feel rather guilty and lazy…

    …oh, and did you ever watch Ant and Dec? Or Blind Date? Or Catchphrase? I think I was glued to the TV during that decade!

    Great photos by the way =]

    xxx

    • roswellivory July 17, 2012 at 8:31 am #

      Aww, thanks! πŸ˜€
      I do miss the 90’s nights at the local alt club! Weirdly, I don’t rememberr having Spice Girls posters, but I had the Spice Girls annual! LOL! I watched all of Ant and Dec, and Blind Date. And Catchphrase. And Gladiators…

      I’ve heard of it, and I hate to say that my mum is reading it. She has heard my displeasure. πŸ˜› I like the soundtrack to the first Twilight film, but think the characters are crap. I was never a fan of Buffy but I get that she’s a huge role model.

      Thanks- I’m trying, just is so stupidly hard to get through the work! I don’t know why 😦 I’m about to go away for a week and will take the laptop with me so I can try and get some done.

      xxxxx

Leave a Reply

