Dryad (part 2)

22 Mar

Have some more pictures from my shoot with John Duder!

Such a lovely day…

We moved to a ruin just down the road.Β  Here was a rare moment of balance- the rubble was a bit unstable so I was wobbling across it like Jack Sparrow!

But as someone who looked very disapproving came out to watch, we gathered up our stuff and scarpered!
Nothing to see here..

And after some lunch, we moved to a more secluded location. Now, isn’t it interesting the way life can imitate art!? Ever since I saw these pictures, I had been reminded of a very angry wood nymph! It’s something about the huge dead tree on the flat plain, and the hair blowing in the wind (which was most definitely blowing by that time!) I had in my head this tree spirit still trying to communicate with and shelter behind her long-dead tree, before finally leaving it behind.

Well, I was a very angry little spirit today.
Great White Sharks can grow up to twenty feet in length, and have a bite force of over 18,000 newtons! They are the largest predatory fish in the sea, and in the sea they are generally very good at taking care of themselves. However, they are endangered because we yoink them up from the ocean and cut them into pieces of varying sizes, most of which are for medicine or (usually the jaws) for sale as big scary trinkets for a very dumb variety of human to shudder appreciatively at before mounting it on their walls.
This is totally and completely illegal in the UK. (Not to mention, unethical as the Great White is on the endangered species list).

Today, I found *fresh* Great White Shark jaws for sale in one of my local antique shops. Obviously, the police, CITES and the WWF now know about it but I was, as my housemate put it, full of the wrath of Cthulhu all the way home.

That was the life, now here’s the art:

Latex with bright colours and bounciness is coming soon…

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. as I hit 100 subscribers recently, stay tuned as I’ll be running a prize draw in the next few days… πŸ˜‰

10 Responses to “Dryad (part 2)”

  1. leelynch March 23, 2012 at 12:50 am #

    Lovely work!! I like dsc08583 quite alot, but they are all sweet.

    Yeah hearing that about the shark jaws pisses me off too, hope the dealer is investigated.

    I love sharks, I think they are cool.

    • roswellivory March 25, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      Thanks- I cannot wait to blog my next pictures (latex fashion…)

      I was furious to find out that if they have a license, they can trade in good from Great Whites. I will, if I find they are legal, be promoting a boycott of the shop. While sharks scare me, I think that as an important part of the world, they should never be allowed to die out.

  2. Chris Walter March 23, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Love that sepia set.
    Very earthy, primordial even.
    Even a dead tree is full of life.
    The cycle continues….
    Excellent.

    • roswellivory March 25, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

      Thankyou so much- they are some of my favourite nudes I’ve done this year! πŸ™‚

  3. HarkenRoad March 23, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    That tree trunk reminds me of an ancient apple in my grandfather’s yard. It produced heavenly fruit even though the center had fallen prey to time, and had completely rotted away. The cavity was well large enough for a six year old to crawl inside, and was a favorite (although obvious) spot when we played hide-and-seek.

    Speaking of heavenly … you do NOT have “a fat arse.” πŸ™‚

    • roswellivory March 25, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      That sounds amazing! I’d love to have a tree like that in my garden. (I love trees- having been a subscriber for a while, you probably know that now, lol!)

      And thanks- I feel better knowing the man in question was wearing a beige trenchcoat. πŸ˜›

  4. Phil March 24, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Disapproving? He was probably worried about his Snowdrops.

    • roswellivory March 25, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

      LOL!!! We had permission to shoot in the snowdrops from the garden owner- I was very careful not to crush any πŸ˜€

  5. Bob Johnson March 24, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Well to begin you are looking fantastic. I love the tat. I really like the tree in the last few pics. By the way I believe that I subscribe to your blog. I would really enjoy a signed pic. Assuming I get picked πŸ˜€

    • roswellivory March 25, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

      Thankyou muchly! I’m working on it…
      I’ve sent mail out to several photographers for permission to print out their images and when I have replies, I will put all my subscribers’ names into my amazing latex mohican hat and pull a few out. Good luck! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

