Some of my favourite colours in the world…

22 Feb

… beat against my eyelids like the blues of green hummingbirds…

If you know me in real life, or have noticed me squeaking like a girl over certain nature programme links online, you may know I have a thing about hummingbirds. I knew they existed (obviously) before, but fell in love when I visited LA in 2009. It didn’t occur to me that they would be zooming around the garden until one was pointed out. Even tinier than I expected,ย  it was both fun and incredibly frustrating trying to get a picture! I eventually managed a fuzzy blur that I will never delete from my old cameraphone.
I then saw them everywhere I went and it was an amazingย  experience shooting by a pool while they did somersaults around me. If I had been staying longer, I’d have tried to get them to feed from my hand. (Yes, this is possible).

Anyway, I now love hummingbirds.

As I’ve had a few days off, I’ve been doing some art! Want to see?

Pen and ink:

And speaking of my favourite colours, I love wearing green- especially on my eyes. There’s something nice about red and green. ๐Ÿ™‚ I just got this picture back from last year’s Eurotour!
Photographer: Charles Van Trappen
Hair/Make-up: Me

See you,

ROSWELL x

p.s. for the interested; painted in acrylics and inspired by the Planet Earth series.


Close-up:

Not quite finished (but almost):

Close-up:

13 Responses to “Some of my favourite colours in the world…”

  1. Dave February 22, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    Very cool about the hummingbirds – they are cute little critters for sure ๐Ÿ™‚ Also I love the painting in the shape of the trilobite. I love the mix of the individual small paintings in the overall shape of something like those guys too ๐Ÿ™‚ Most excellent work ๐Ÿ™‚

    • roswellivory February 24, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

      Thanks, yes I have a minor obsession with them ๐Ÿ™‚
      I need to get better pictures of my art sometime soo, lol!

  2. David February 22, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    WOW – I think I have a new favourite photo of you – stunning

    • roswellivory February 24, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      Thanks- I was so excited when it turned up in my inbox!

  3. leewlynchLee Lynxh February 24, 2012 at 4:24 am #

    Love your art! I didn’t know you did that as well, what a talented person ๐Ÿ™‚

    • roswellivory February 24, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

      Awww, thankyou! Yes, I love to paint ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Kumar February 25, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

        I am going to jerk the hell off about your pics. You are too damn banging hot.

        • roswellivory February 25, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

          Thankyou for your eloquent and well thought-out comment about my work. I am posting it so that everybody here can see your e-mail address and ISP number.

          • Kumar February 25, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

            Please. Feel free to post this pic as well so that every body here can see it too.

            • roswellivory February 25, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

              Gladly!

              • Kumar February 25, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

                We should fuck too.

                Reply with “Gladly!” too now please. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Liddy February 27, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    Wow! Did you really paint those sections?! They actually look like tiny photos! They’re absolutely beautiful!

    I wouldn’t have thought it possible to get a hummingbird to feed from your hand. I thought they’d be more timid!

    Anyway, hope you’re well and all!

    xxx

    P.S. Ummm, is that Kumar person for real? I don’t like vulgar comments dirtying up your blog!

    • roswellivory February 28, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      I did- and thankyou! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t usually paint just from my imagination so I have reference photos that I use.

      I know! I couldn’t get one to sit still from my camera but I guess if you have the patience then you can get them used to you being around.

      All’s well thanks- dashing off home in a sec and trying to catch up on stuff before my tour begins. Busybusy, lol!

      xxxx

      And sadly, so- that’s why I’ve given everyone his e-mail and ISP address just in case anyone fancies putting him in his place! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

