Proud.

7 Nov

UPDATE: Shaun Colclough’s Vixen Vamps website is still running. Do you know any of these women? Please put them in touch with me.  http://thevixenvamps.com/boudoir_photographers_london.html

Here are just a few of the uncomfortable-looking faces on his site:

“Heather”- EDIT: Tracked her down. She had no idea her pictures were on this website.

“Zaza”- EDIT: Got her. Heartbreaking to hear- and again, she had no idea his site existed.


“Alicia”


“Ruth”
________________________________________________________________

A few months ago, I’d probably have struggled to know what I’m proudest of in my life. Not that I’m not proud of things I have done, but nothing would have jumped out at me.
That changed in August this year, when I decided to out a photographer who abused me.

To read my account of his actions, and accounts of other models (and his response!) then read this blog: The Importance of References.

Here’s what happened:
– While I was writing the blog, I called up every agency that I could see Shaun had tested for. Three of which had already blacklisted him based on his conduct. Three more blacklisted him immediately.
The only agency that did not, and was exceptionally dismissive and rude to me was IMG.
– I noticed on Shaun’s blog that he had begun to target tattooed/pierced models. So I called up the main alt agencies. He is blacklisted now, before he can submit work.
– After posting the blog, I encouraged models to post their experiences on my page. Thankyou, girls.
– Shaun finally noticed the blog. His response was more of an indicator as to his mental state than anything I could ever have said.

And now:
– Shaun Colclough has not posted on his blog for several months
– The police are aware of (and monitoring) the situation
– Shaun Colclough’s work facebook page appears virtually abandoned.

What else has happened?
Nothing.

The Point:
I’m not writing this in order to bait Shaun, I am writing this post for other models.
NOTHING else has happened- I have not seen a drop in my bookings, I have not had abusive e-mails, and I have had nothing in the way of negative feedback for my actions at all.
In fact, I have been overwhelmed at the amount of support that has been sent my way.

And so here is my message: if you have been harmed or abused by a photographer, please, please report it. Report it to the moderators of the website you communicated on, report it to the police (especially if an actual crime e.g. indecent exposure has been committed) and report it to other models.
Shaun Colclough had abused plenty of girls before me. Just one word from one of them would have stopped me from working with him. I have had so many e-mails from girls who had booked shoots with Shaun Colclough but cancelled after reading my blog and the statements from other girls. So for the sake of other models, report it.

I did, and so far, in my life, this is the thing I am most proud of.

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. thankyou to all the girls who submitted statements, posted their experiences on my blog and supported me.

10 Responses to “Proud.”

  1. kathtea November 8, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    Have you tried taking this to the MM forums yet? By the way, I want your advice on something… should I take on Glamour/Lingerie shoots for TFCDs?

    • roswellivory November 8, 2011 at 8:30 am #

      Heya,

      No because they have very strict rules about “outing” photographers. 😦 I’m going to ask the women I’ve found where he contacted them and if it’s on MM, I’ll do something.

      If the photographer is good enough to get quality images from the shoot and into your portfolio, then I don’t see anything wrong. Work TF with people of your level or higher, and only if you will get a portfolio boost out of it 😉 xxx

  2. Fanstastica November 8, 2011 at 3:54 am #

    Good deal Roswell. No model should ever have to be leery of a photographer and really, for IMG to be rude to you… hopefully you trying to put the topic in their sphere does not come back to haunt them.

    There are far too many situations, aside from the modeling industry where people like what’s-his-face are held up on pedestals while they shame their victims into thinking they’re in the wrong. When they’re outted, the victim often has the spotlight on them and the predator is stroked like a poor, defenseless baby.
    I’m glad this one isn’t getting away with it.

  3. beauvoir November 8, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    Well done, girl. It takes guts to be so open and more girls should follow in your footsteps with this attitude. I hope it wasn’t too traumatic.

    Keep up the gorgeous work.

    beauvoir

    x

    • roswellivory November 8, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      Thankyou so much for your support. I’m ok- just working to track down the other girls and make sure they’re ok too.

      xxx

  4. Catriona Stewart November 9, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    You have done a wonderful job and set a brilliant example for others to not let themselves be taken advantage of. I hope that this provokes other models who have had bad experiences with photographers (or others within the industry) to come forward and help to put a stop to it.

    You have so much support!

    • roswellivory November 9, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

      Thankyou so much- that means a lot to me.
      I have just had a statement which may involve him actually breaking the law. Bear with me, and please continue to spread the word…

      R xxx

  5. Anon November 11, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    I am glad you brought this man to people’s attention. I shot with him twice.
    He found me on MM and sent me a nice msg saying he’d love to shoot with me.
    The first time I was with a friend, and he seemed to be friendly enough. I was happy with the pictures. We shot outdoors and then did some fashion ones in his little studio.
    I really enjoyed working with him, and he told me he never books girls for a 2nd shoot but wanted to work with me again.
    The second time I went to the shoot alone. When I got to his studio, he asked me to show him my outfits. I opened my suitcase and he picked a few he liked the look of.
    He asked me to wear them for him so he could see which he prefered.
    So he left the room whilst I got changed, then I had to call him each time I had the outfit on.
    He chose 3 sets to wear, and we started doing some shots against the wall. He kept telling me that I was too professional and looked like I knew what I was doing. He wanted
    a more scared and nervous look, asthough it was my first time.
    I found that a little weird, but I tried to put on an innocent look for the shots. He still kept telling me he wasn’t getting the right expression, so I didn’t really know what else to do.
    He wanted to do a bedroom looking set, so he put white sheets on the floor, then stood above me taking the pics.
    We did some shots in lingerie and then some implied nude.
    We were kind of flirting a bit but in a joking way, but then he took his top off as it was very hot in the studio, then he was asking me if I fancied him.
    I said ‘no I dont fancy guys I dont know’.
    Then he kept telling me to have a horny expression on my face asthought I was trying to seduce someone. He kept telling me again he wasn’t getting the right look, so he suggested giving me oral sex to help me get into the mood.
    i laughed it off as I thought he was joking, but I did feel uncomfortable with it.
    Then as he stood above me whilst I was nude, I cud feel his foot moving closer in between my legs.
    He then grabbed me and kissed me. I didn’t have the chance to even breathe.
    Then I stood up and told him I couldnt do that. I felt a bit like it was my fault for flirting with him in the studio. But I only did it for fun.
    He took all his clothes off them pulled me towards him…. I told him I was sorry if I led him on in any way but I really wasn’t interested.
    His mood changed and he became very angry. He wasn’t shouting, but his face changed and his action were slamming down his camera equiptment.
    I told him I was leaving, then he appologised in a fake way and held me close like a hug. He was naked so I tried to push him away, but he was trying to kiss me and say sorry.
    He said ‘ I know you are attracted to me and want to have sex. It’s ok, just let go and enjoy it’.
    I was busy packing my things, so he backed off. I could see him in the mirror reflection just starring at me, so I put some clothes and as soon as I could.
    When I was zipping up my case, he put his clothes on and said he’d walk me to my car outside.
    I told him I was ok and didnt need him to. He still follwed me outside anyway, and then told me that he was very horny and couldnt help himself.
    I just ignored him, and he said ‘I have 5 girls that I see to have sex with, do you want to be the 6th?/… Have a think about it and let me know’.
    I drove off feeling really cheap and for ages had it in my mind that it was partly my fault for jokinging flirting with him, but he was very pushy even after telling him I was not interested, and I am glad I left when I did or who knows what he could have done.
    I feel much better now, knowing I was not the only one he treated this way.

    • roswellivory November 13, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

      This is sexual assault. I am horrified beyond words and have PM-ed you.

Leave a Reply

