Tragic figures and wonderful creatures

23 Sep

As promised, I’m going to tell you what I was grinning about in my last post!

Eroticalia (aka Ikletikfiks) contacted me about continuing his Pre-Raphaelite project. (Check out his shot of Ivory Flame HERE). I got “The Lady of Shalott.”

“Lying, robed in snowy white
That loosely flew to left and right —
The leaves upon her falling light —
Thro’ the noises of the night,
She floated down to Camelot:
And as the boat-head wound along
The willowy hills and fields among,
They heard her singing her last song,
The Lady of Shalott”

In the poem, she has been cursed and can only see the outside world through a mirror. She sees Sir Lancelot in her mirror and turns toward the view of Camelot from her window, setting the curse into effect. She gets into her boat and singing, sails down to Camelot where she dies.
It’s a very pretty painting by Waterhouse! Click for painting and poem.

Here’s ours:

We rented a gondola in beautiful Stratford-Upon-Avon (Shakespeare town) and were taken to this spot by motor boat!
I had stayed in the hostel in Tiddington the night before, and found out that this was the village in which a girl Katherine Hamlet drowned. She is thought to be the inspiration for Shakespeare’s Ophelia (Hamlet’s sister)…

Countryside just outside the hostel:

… and though we only decided to shoot an Ophelia picture at short notice, we had the perfect location: Stratford-Upon-Avon Butterfly Farm! 😀
It was such a beautiful place- as I stepped into the pool filled with koi, the butterflies began to land on my dress. I did lie down but we preferred these shots.

It’s interesting. Both women died singing.*

I should mention that as I stepped into the pool, one of the butterfly ladies had a quick chat with me:
Just to let you know, they shouldn’t harm you but there are leeches in there.
….Leeches?
Yes, they feed on the fish but also on warm areas of the body.
………
If you get one, just come to me and I’ll get rid of it. 🙂
….. 😦

I didn’t get a leech, but I did get a much more welcome snake and a tarantula after I’d dried off a little.
This is a Coastal Carpet Python. Isn’t he GORGEOUS???

Photographer Chris aka Ikletikfiks is the SNAKE MASTEEEEEERRRR!

Snuggly and fluffy and eight-legged… why is everybody backing away?

I even saw my first black widow spider- it’s smaller than the one tattooed on me! No pictures sadly- too dark.

You can have some more animal pictures soon (they all have four legs, I promise.) As it is four a.m. I’m going to sleep finally, having spent four wonderful days back home with people I love, and answering four days worth of e-mails. (Lots of fours!)

Night night,

ROSWELL xxx

P.S. *I can’t sing.

9 Responses to “Tragic figures and wonderful creatures”

  1. kathtea September 23, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    The Lady of Shalott pic is now my wallpaper 😀

    Hey, I was wondering after looking through DeviantArt’s corset groups (I’m finally getting my first corset in 2-3 weeks, yay!) I came across another British alt model/photographer, whose DeviantArt ID is ladymorgana. Just out of curiousity, have you ever met or worked with her? She has such a beautiful portfolio, like you 😄

    • roswellivory September 23, 2011 at 10:48 am #

      Awwww, I think one of my friends back home has Ophelia as hers. 😀

      Eeep! Enjoy your corset- they are so pretty. I know Morgana- her gorgeous pictures are everywhere but sadly I have not worked with her… yet.

      xxxxx

      • kathtea September 23, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

        Thanks, I will enjoy trying to mix’n’matching the corset with my wardrobe 😛
        Morgana’s photography AND modelling is just breathtaking. Can’t wait to finally see her capture images of you, or even modelling together! I look forward to the day…

        PS: Hope your novel gets picked up for publishing soon!

        • roswellivory September 24, 2011 at 11:35 am #

          She is fantastic- I’ve been a fan of her work for a long time 😀
          And thanks- I’m just trying not to think about it, lol!!!

          xxx

      • kathtea September 23, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

        Argh Grammar fail. I meant “mix’n’match” >.<"

  2. Romantic Dominant September 23, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Rare and exotic creature

  3. nakedcarlyart September 30, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    I am so jealous! I LOVE the series! Oh how I wish I could have been part of that series. Gorgeous!

    • roswellivory October 3, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      Thankyou so much! Haven’t seen you in ages! How are things going? Where are you living now? xxx

Leave a Reply

