Roswell Ivory vs The Eiffel Tower

6 Aug

Wow, that last post went down a storm! πŸ˜‰ (If you haven’t seen it yet- or a certain photographer’s response, it is well worth a read.)
So hello to my new viewers and subscribers! It’s nice to have you here- feel free to leave a comment below. πŸ˜€

Anyway… I went to Paris in May.

I stayed with my friends Sophie (HMSlatex) and Mathieu (Mathieu Richardoz)- and Punky the cat. Thanks guys, you rocks my socks.
While I was out there, I worked with Sylvie Blum on one of the coolest (and earliest) photoshoots I’ve ever done! It was a very early start and after some door-related trouble (“je suis desolee pour le derrangement a cinq heures ce matin”)* I fell onto the pavement to wait for the driver. We had a driver. πŸ˜€
I wasn’t actually sure where we were going to be shooting- just that it was going to be outdoors and at 5am, I assumed it would be for the sunrise. Was not enlightened when the location was described in French (I can speak a bit of French, until I talk to a French person. Then, THIS happens.)

Driver: So first we’re going to [French] and then stopping by [French]. Right?
Sylvie: That’s right. I also think we should check out [French].
Roswell: hmm… I understood the word “the”. *Chats with Sylvie and driver, while looking out of the window*
Ooh, it’s the Eiffel Tower! Prettyprettypretty… wait, why are we stopping?

It was early and freezing but wow, I was one seriously happy English lady. Having had some truly awful teenage years, I still have to pinch myself occasionally during photoshoots- the idea that I could be modelling, and travelling the world to do so wouldn’t have even occurred to me at a time when my greatest dream was to be happy in my own skin and allowed to be so by others.

So here I am: in these pictures, the happiest woman in the world.

On to the next location: I’m afraid I don’t know where this is. When I tried to describe the building to Mathieu, he reminded me that I was in Paris: EVERYTHING is pretty with pillars and sticky-out bits. πŸ˜‰
If you can tell me where the heck I am, that would be great. Thanks in advance!

There are more photos to come. We also visited the Arc De Triomf and The Pont du Alexandre III…

Articles, nude photos, and even… clothed photos(!) coming soon.

ROSWELL xxx

* “I am sorry for the disturbance at five this morning”

43 Responses to “Roswell Ivory vs The Eiffel Tower”

  1. usedlaptops1 August 7, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    As always extremely beautiful. As I was looking at these pics I was wondering where the public were. It must have been very early.

    • roswellivory August 7, 2011 at 12:26 am #

      Thankyou so much! I’m soooo proud of them πŸ˜€ Yes, it was very very early.

  2. Amergin August 7, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    Nothing like having Ice Cream under the Tower in ’02. Although the view was not this good πŸ˜‰

    • roswellivory August 9, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

      Lol, thanks! Ice-cream anywhere is amazing (Haagen Daz Creme Brulee to be precise) πŸ˜‰

  3. kathtea August 7, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    Argh! You’re so beautiful in every shot! It’s your skin and curves and hair… *sigh* I will never look that good, my body’s all boyish, my cups are small and my hair is short >< Those locations look good for any shoot really, always nice to have interesting pointy things in the background… And I just adore black & white photos, most of my best work is in b&w (but my friend who took them STILL hasn't sent them to me ==). Can't wait to see more from you!

    • roswellivory August 9, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

      Awww, thankyou! There isn’t one “perfect” body type- I should know, half my friends are nude models and we all look sooooo different when we get together. I’m often the exception. Many nude models are very petite with little curves.
      Lol at interesting pointy things. Yay for interesting pointy things! πŸ˜€

      xxx

  4. kathtea August 7, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    Oh and this extra comment is for me to subscribe to comments XP

  5. David August 7, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Stunning as always. Was the – nude next to a phalic shaped monument – the theme or just coincidence?
    I’ve been to Paris once only but I believe the location of your secomd set of photos is “Concorde” or at least that is the name of the pointy thing behind you

    • roswellivory August 9, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

      LOL!!!!!!!!! It’s Paris- Paris is full of phallic-shaped objects!
      Thanks- always good to know where I am. (Even if someone else has to tell me.) πŸ˜›

  6. Sophie Richardoz (@HMSlatex) August 7, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Ooh, fantastic! I was impatient to see these, they’re stunning! o_O

    The second set was shot at la place de la Concorde. πŸ™‚

    Also, you’re welcome back anytime. xxx

    • roswellivory August 9, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

      EEEEEEEE! Thanks- I love them too. And thanks for letting me know where I am. πŸ˜‰
      Does “Concorde” translate into English? What does it mean?
      *hugs*

      Hope all’s fantastic and you had a good holiday πŸ˜€
      P.S. It was a problem with my bank account, not paypal. I’m going in tomorrow to check it’s sorted out.

      • Madcollector August 10, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

        Apart from the supersonic english-french plane, Concordia was the roman goddess of harmony. It also means peace.

        I’ve seen a shooting for the italian Vanity fair there, once. Cars kept rushing all around, no one noticing the model and the crew.
        I bet a few guys had trouble keeping their eyes on the road with you…

        • roswellivory August 10, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

          Ohhhhh! That’s really interesting! Thanks for letting me know (I only knew about the plane. I wonder why they called it that!)

          Lol! I honestly didn’t notice- I was too busy staring at the scenery. It *was* very early though, so I bet most of them thought they were still half asleep, LOL!!!

          πŸ˜€

  7. Romantic Dominant August 7, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Wonderful photographs. A statuesque, perfectly proportioned goddess. Paris cannot match such elegance.

  8. David Cuthbert August 9, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    vive la diffΓ©rence

  9. SunshineintheDesert August 10, 2011 at 1:53 am #

    I tried to hook up with Sylvie while I was in Paris. But, we weren’t QUITE there at the same time. Darn – would have been a lot of fun it looks like. Love your work with her! I have an image on my DA portfolio – and my blog called “Shopping Spree”. It too is on the streets of Paris with D. Keith Furon as my shooter.

    • roswellivory August 10, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      It’s you! Hello! πŸ˜€

      What a shame- she’s lovely, but I still love your shopping spree photo. Found it on DA- that was sooo brave! I’ve always wanted to do that on the streets on Barcelona, as there’s no law forbidding nudity (as long as you’re wearing shoes!) but when I was last there, no photographer was brave enough! 😦

      • KathTea August 11, 2011 at 11:08 am #

        Oooh link me up, Roswell! Anyway, I didn’t know that anyone could even do that! O_O I guess everything seems to be a bit of a culture shock to this little Asian in Asia >_< That sounds so cool, I wanna do that someday… That's the exhibitionist in me talking haha

        xoxo Kath

  10. Perry August 10, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    What a super set of pictures and a great tale to tell! The iconic locations grab one’s interest as thumbnails and looking at the larger images the contrast of your femininity with masculine objects really comes across. What I get more than anything though is the profound sense of joy, as you found yourself ‘on stage’ in the world’s most beautiful city enjoying the peace of early morning before the melee begins! I bet you were really buzzing afterwards?

    Perry.
    http://www.imagesse.co.uk

    • roswellivory August 10, 2011 at 9:24 am #

      Thankyou so much!!! I was most definitely (and doubly so thanks to the seriously sugary croissants I had for breakfast, lol!) I was literally pinching myself during this shoot, grinning like a fool between takes and bouncing about, the happiest thing on the planet!
      πŸ˜€

  11. Stuart Harrison-Photography August 10, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    Place de la Concorde is where the guillotine was sited during the French Revolution. It looks a lot better now, especially with you in residence!

  12. KathTea August 15, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    I meant the shopping spree photo mentioned by you and SunshineintheDesert, something about being nude in Barcelona πŸ˜‰
    Wow, it seems I need a wider portfolio for MM… O_o”” Well, time to look up more photographers I guess!

  13. KathTea August 21, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    It’s gorgeous, I love the simplicity!

  14. hotshot bald cop August 30, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    This made me snicker for a protracted time.

  15. hotshot bald cop September 2, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    Attention-grabbing views concerning that!

  16. Lee Lynch November 2, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    Love these!!

  17. Frivolous Monsters March 28, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    They’re just brilliant!
    FM

    • roswellivory March 29, 2012 at 7:50 am #

      Thankyou so much! πŸ˜€

      • Frivolous Monsters March 29, 2012 at 9:29 am #

        These pictures just go to prove the old saying that β€œThe whole is greater than the sum of its parts”. Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

