Call me Venus… or something like that!

5 Apr

Yes, I know I said this post would be about staying in Bournemouth. But it isn’t.

A long time ago, when I’d only just begun modelling nude, I worked with Allan Jenkins and while I loved the results, I did not have much experience and looking back now on the photos, I can tell.
So earlier this year (about four years after that shoot), I contacted Allan and we arranged to work together again.

Shooting with Allan is very different to shooting with other photographers. Having a background in fine art, he treats the composition of background/props as a still-life setting, arranging strands of hair and folds of material until the overall effect works as a piece. Most of my nude work requires strong or dramatic posing, but here, a raised eyebrow or tilt of the head can change the entire photo.
Allan’s photos (which I really recommend you have a look at), bring out sensuality without being too sexual or explicit- in fact while posing I felt… sculptural(?) as if I was posing for a painter or sculptor, and not for a photograph. We’ve been discussing shooting on location in the summer so there may well be more where these came from…

Allan has one of the coolest studios I’ve ever worked in. It’s full of STUFF! I fell in love with this lamp the last time I was there and finally got to pose with it! It looks science-fiction-y. Very happy Roswell. 😀

Talking of science-fiction, I have some writing news… I finished the first draft of another novel a week or so ago! I also have an interesting project in the pipeline, involving a short story I wrote a while ago. I don’t want to jinx it so will save the info for later…

More photos soon- I have a backlog!

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. If you have linked to my website, please let me know so I can return the favour. If you haven’t, I’d be very grateful if you could! xx

6 Responses to “Call me Venus… or something like that!”

  1. christhegoth April 5, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Now dats a hot bit of stuff 😉

    I like the first 1. The Hair ‘Net’ is almost Medieval. Very nice.

    • roswellivory April 5, 2011 at 10:29 am #

      Thanks!
      I love that one too as it makes it unclear where I’m from. I’m half-English-half-Scottish but look Persian or something there! 😀

  2. David April 5, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    Another great post, pics stunning as always. Can’t wait.to work with you.

    Added a link to your site in my latest blogpost as you know

  3. Matthew C. Gill April 6, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    Love the latest photo’s, it’s funny how something like a rotary phone can remind you of people used to savor conversation. I hope you don’t mind but I added you to my blog’s blogroll; http://silverpenscribe.blogspot.com/

    It’s mainly developed into a daily collection of episodic short stories and informative primers set in a sci-fi setting I developed over the years. Granted it isn’t much but it does present me with an outlet and a means to refine myself. I always love feedback, but it’s not required. With your permission I’d like to keep the link up to help your traffic if I can. Great art like yours demands to be seen and appreciated.

    • roswellivory April 6, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

      Hi there!

      Thankyou so much for your kind words about my work- I don’t mind you adding me to your blogroll at all!
      I’ll have a look as soon as I have a spare moment- you may have guessed from my name that I’m a sci-fi fan! 😀

      R xx

  4. Matthew C. Gill April 6, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Your very welcome. And thank you for the permission! I was pretty sure you were a sci-fi enthusiast as well, but don’t feel obligated to take a peek. I’d love your feedback if you do, but I hate for people to read my work if they feel they have to. I’m still honing my skills as it were, but there is a good variety of stories already posted. All I hope is that they are enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

