Eat, Pray, Cringe (and by the way I’m going to Barcelona.)

29 Sep

This time on Monday, I’ll be in Barcelona!
I’m going for just over a week and though you’re probably used to me writing about travelling for work by now, I made the decision not to do any shoots while out there- making this my first actual holiday in a very long time. It’ll be a bit strange packing my flight bag and not thinking about how many outfits will be needed for X-many shoots and whether the (real) horseshoes on the bottom of my pony boots will bring my bag weight up too high. And does that weeny little eyelash glue *really* count as a liquid??
Of course, there will be pictures (lots of pictures) but I’ll be leaving the photoshoots for when I return. (Don’t worry- there are several in the pipeline…)  😉

So anyway, that’s why I probably won’t be online until I return to the UK.

Here’s a shot by Gregory Miles Brown that somehow, I forgot to post! It’s from my last trip to Spain..

Continuing the travelling theme, I saw the full trailer for “Eat, Pray, Love” the other day. (It’s the one with Julia Roberts that is murdering-by-overplaying “Dog Days Are Over”). In an un-Roswell-like moment, I read the book. I usually read ANYTHING BUT books “that have been passed from woman to woman like the secret of life” (bleurgh) but there was a 3-for-2 deal on travel writing in Waterstones and I had a train to catch.

It’s the (true) account of a woman who decides her “perfect”/boring life is over and travels to Italy, India and Bali to learn how to balance pleasure and spirituality. She doesn’t preach or take herself too seriously and the passion with which she speaks about language and food while in Italy actually inspired me to get off my backside and write something. At first.

BUT…

This is someone who sees a picture and on asking who it is of and receiving the answer “my guru”, decides this stranger is also hers. And this is where I began to feel uncomfortable. Immediately choosing to become a “devotee” , attending classes with other “devotees” to chant for hours in Sanskrit and then within a few months, heading to India to live for four months in the guru’s prayer house?? Really?
Elizabeth (the writer) describes her relationships with men as one-sided. Since the end of school, she had never been single for longer than a week. She even describes herself as “a soul-eater”. Isn’t this guru just another person for Elizabeth to worship, without any sexual complications? I did wonder.

But the tale moves on. After mastering the arts of meditation and sitting still while being bitten by mosquitoes, off she goes to Bali…

Where she meets a man who calls her his “lovely little darling” and other emetic terms, then after an incident with a money-grabbing  “friend”, everything all works out and Elizabeth finds love with this man who also said to her “sometimes I wish you were a lost little girl so I could scoop you up and take care of you forever.” O_O
I started out enjoying this book (it is full of interesting facts) but as it progressed, the needy woman of the first few chapters returned, this time hiding behind a newly spiritual persona, where every other word is God, or a Yogic saying. And on and on she goes, professing her profound love for a man she’s known for three months.

Maybe I just don’t like chick-lit, even travel-memoir chick-lit? Or maybe the fact that Elizabeth Gilbert was being paid to go on this trip and write about it makes her words seem more than a little fake as she always knew she would be writing for an audience?
I don’t know. But I do recommend the other two books I got from the 3-for-2 deal: “America Unchained”, by Dave Gorman (it is hilarious) and “Into The Wild”, by Jon Krakauer (watch the film too- both are incredible.)

And as I’m determined to keep the travel theme going to the end, here are three polaroids of me against some travel-ly cards I’ve kept and my most recent painting (featuring wildlife from all over the world). By Pirate Photography of course!

See you when I get back,

ROSWELL xxx

5 Responses to “Eat, Pray, Cringe (and by the way I’m going to Barcelona.)”

  1. Christian Wilcox September 30, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    I’m a Tai Chi man myself. Nothing wrong with pleasure and Spirituality, as it does make a lovely balance. Howevvah…

    That lass has not progressed at all. All she has learned how to do is repeat. I guess that was enough for the character, but even so. It seems a bit too easy IYSWIM. It takes years to get a mind-set that is reliable for Tai Chi and the like. Hmm…

    Yeah, it sounds like someone trying to make stuff seem too easy when it is usually not.

    Oh yeah, by bizarre coincidence and that this came up on one of my feeds:

    Geekery aside the movement is like a dance. It’s gorgeous stuff.

  2. bet365 October 2, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    Good day!This was a really outstanding website!
    I come from roma, I was fortunate to seek your blog in bing
    Also I get a lot in your theme really thanks very much i will come later

    • roswellivory October 3, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

      Hello!

      Thankyou! I’m glad you like it. I’d love to visit Rome one day. Hope all is going well,

      Rxx

      p.s. subscribe to get a message when I update 🙂

  3. Holly October 3, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Hey Roswell! I watched Eat Pray Love at the cinema last week, I haven’t read the book but I was a bit turned off at the film, I’m not sure how close it was to the original story. I usually love Julia Roberts even when she’s being spoilt like in My Best Friend’s Wedding, but here I didnt warm to her character at all, like how she just up and left her husband with seemingly no real effort to work things out and make changes or be honest with each other, and I know it was about self love, but the whole things seemed SOOO self-indulgant… I didnt get why she decided to chant to the guru either, or the relevance of how that helped her? And so much of it seemed so cheesy. The visuals in the film were great but it didnt have impact as it was clearly all hollywooded up on a set. I hated the guy she finished off with, creepy soppy brazilian, and I didnt understand why they made a good couple, and (in the film at least) she only decided to get with him cuz the Bali yoga man told her to… she just seemed just as confused as when she started. Weird!! I share your frustration 🙂 xxx

    • roswellivory October 17, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

      Heya!

      I’ve been curious about how that film was going to turn out! I heard they completely cut the part where her “friend” tried to trick her into giving her a few thousand pounds. One of the first things I said when I saw the trailer was “wow, that guy looks the same age as her!” In the book, he is nearly twenty years older than her :S
      So glad it wasn’t just me thinking the story sucked just a little! (Even though it was real).

      Hope stuff’s going well! 😀 See you

      xxx

Leave a Reply

