Hostels, hair and hippies

26 Apr

A few weeks ago, I went to Birmingham for a photoshoot with JMK photography. As it’s quite a way from Norwich (about 4 hours) I travelled up the night before and stayed in The Coolest Hostel I have ever been in. If you ever find yourself in need of a place to stay in Birmingham, go to “Birmingham Central Backpackers”.

I got off the train freezing cold, clutching a hand-drawn map and walked for about five minutes past a silver studded building and a little church that looked as if it had been magicked there, then through the grottiest part of town and into a dark alley that led to… a little hippy hideout!
(Pictures taken from website)

I walked into a warm bar, with postcards and souvenirs of other countries covering every available surface, computers, tables, a sofa and a massive TV screen playing “Aliens”. Everything was bright, everyone was friendly and after putting my suitcase in the locker, I went downstairs, watched “Dazed and Confused” and hung out with some interesting people.

The lockers didn’t feel as if they could be wrenched apart in seconds and the beds were very comfy- I was definitely taken care of. I don’t usually sleep well in hostels but actually managed my eight hours here.

Apparently, there’s also a garden for the summer!! Can I recommend this place highly enough?

In the morning, I had free Nutella and toast, then went to my shoot. As we didn’t hire hair or make-up stylists, I did both myself and had a chance to experiment:

My new curling tongs! I also made the silver outfit myself- was going for a sci-fi/pin-up look.

Streeeeeetch! Though I can actually get that foot to touch my head, I forgot that heels would make the task very difficult. I still like the picture though 🙂

I like doing beauty work. The butterflies are fridge magnets.

***I am selling this camo top by House of Harlot. Message or comment for details***

Yes, I dreaded my hair. It took about 20 minutes to do and about four hours to undo! The corset is by Alter Ego Erotics.

As I was writing this last night, there was a beautiful sunset outside- the sky was dark grey and it was pouring with rain, but the light was bright orange and lit up absolutely everything. I wish I could have taken pictures but my camera is out of action (working on that.)

Going to continue my article now- I’m reviewing The Millennium Trilogy (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo etc).
Who’s read them? Would love to know your opinions.

ROSWELL xxx

4 Responses to “Hostels, hair and hippies”

  1. ctg April 26, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    Much as I generally don’t like rubber ( Ulorin Vex knows this one ) I do like that camo top.

    Hmm, nice.

    • roswellivory April 27, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

      Thanks- I prefer wearing leather as I find it more comfortable but I have a thing about camo so the army top *had* to be mine!

      • ctg April 27, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

        A girl after my own mind. Hurrah! 😀

  2. Léa April 27, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    The Millennium Trilogy was one of my great reading pleasure.
    – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, was finished in two days, great time.

    – Friend told me “The Girl Who Played With Fire” is not the best of course, she took two weeks to read it, At 2:00 in the morning I was ready to close the book after a few chapter, then I decided for a last one… AND I had to go to the end of the book, going to bed à 6:50 for a few minutes 😦

    – The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest, was also a pleasure

    Xxxx
    Léa

Leave a Reply

