Aftermath

4 Aug

UPDATE #2 12/08/2014
Deeeear Daily Maaaail, It has come to my recent atten-shun…
Okay, I won’t do an Amanda Palmer on you, but apparently I broke down on the stand. Wrong model. Not that crying’s a bad thing but I’m sure you want to have our actions in the right order and matched to the right people.
Colclough was also only charged for four offences and acquitted of two. Thanks.

UPDATE 12/08/2014
If you have arrived via the Times, I’m afraid I have been Rita Skeeter-ed*. :(
I agreed to be named in today’s article only after reading the original text, which gave equal coverage to the other women who testified against the rapist Shaun Colclough.  The editor has cut out those stories and stuck my face on top of the piece like the cherry on top of a butchered cake. I did not give my permission for my image to be used in any way- in fact I forbade it. I feel these actions trivialise the harrowing experiences suffered by the other women and in light of this, I have withdrawn all co-operation with The Times newspaper.
I would like to make clear that the journalist responsible for writing the article bears no responsibility for the heavy-handed editing his original words were subjected to.

*If you are not a Harry Potter fan, Rita Skeeter embodies the worst journalistic stereotype possible.

____________________________________

I must apologise to all of the people who have sent such kind and inspiring comments and messages for me- the whole Colclough experience has been exhausting and so I went offline for a few days in order just to breathe (and attend the wedding of a friend.) I’m writing replies to you all right now.
So, we’ve hit the papers! Colclough’s face and story are in the Times, the Standard, the Hackney Citizen, the Daily Mail (who credited me with yelling “victim” at his retreating back. What I actually said was “you look vulnerable to me”- the same words he repeated during my shoot). More articles are pending and a very unflattering photo of the man himself is doing the rounds. There is now a nationwide appeal for more witnesses to come forward. If you are one, please call the police and tell your story- support is available from now and through the entire court journey.
By virtue of being a writer with a strong online presence, I was able to shout the loudest. However, please let me stress that my experience was minor compared to the other women involved and these are the real warriors behind the conviction. My case was one of ‘unauthorised touching’ and hinged on a hug he denied giving- nearly impossible to prove or convict on. All I did was sound the alarm.

A few days ago I had a lovely stay on the Isle of Wight- shooting on a farm, meeting kittens, girly chats with the fantastic photographer Luci-Alice and her family, brushing through meadows full of wildflowers and stripy cinnabar moth caterpillars- pretty idyllic, right? It had been a much-needed break, friends are a good sadness remedy and I was enjoying my phone-caught memories on a high-speed train though I’ve forgotten where I was going. While I hate the cliche of a world going cold, I remembered the judges’ words describing Shaun and suddenly felt as though the train couldn’t go fast enough. I had an urge to get up and run.
I have the highest respect for those who work with the sickest, most twisted in society- I couldn’t do it. I met this one man, who radiated such a sense of menace that I was more afraid than I have ever been in my life- and as a result, something has changed. Perhaps it’s just the gaining of the knowledge that these people who lurk in CSI’s dark corners and grin like sharks in straight-to-video thrillers really exist.

Still, I know myself a little better. Should I be attacked, raped, threatened- I can and will defend myself- all of the four women wo testified have done so and though not all of us achieved a conviction, in one way we still have won. Should the same thing ever happen again, I would report immediately and take it all the way to court. I think most of us would agree on that.

And so I’ll answer the questions, do the interviews and continue this blog- which has been a huge source of comfort for me. And I’m going to get on with my life. I’m eating Green and Blacks (which I doubt you get in prison), watching four fluffball moorhen chicks (which you don’t get in prison) and enjoying the freedom to work and chill on my own terms (which you sure as hell don’t get in prison.)

Shaun Colclough called us vulnerable. Not any more- if ever we were.

13925_10154373168405063_7480013589763326740_n

Photo by Luci-Alice (who I will blog about soon- I urge you to help her in her current quest).
All parts of the headdress were recycled, collected or otherwise ethically obtained.

24 Responses to “Aftermath”

  1. Romantic Dominant August 4, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

    You are not vulnerable
    But you are beautiful

  2. christhegoth August 5, 2014 at 9:48 am #

    A lovely pikature. I dig hippy stuff :)

    Yes, some men are assholes. To accidentally bump someone in the boob is one thing, but this obviously was waaaaay more than that. 4 girls testified after all. I’m glad you got teh closure you need to keep your head in a good place. As someone who has faced massive levels of injustice myself ( Croydon is not the best of places, as I found out the hard way ) I never got closure; and as such I’ve actually needed Counselling to get past what was done to me. So well done.

    Dr Chris says rest. Emotionally. It’ll be a while before it sinks in proper. And I’ll leave you with this little tid-bit:

    Mallrats, the end credits, Ben Affleck is behind bars, and that big tattooed hand is lovingly moving over his… ;)

    • roswellivory August 14, 2014 at 12:41 pm #

      Thankyou for all the support- I’m glad you are now okay.
      And that is indeed a great limage, lol!

  3. Jim August 5, 2014 at 11:57 am #

    Dear Lady Roswell :) You are amazing. I hope this kind of thing never happens to you again. I wish that it would never happen to anyone ever again… I am so glad you have been able to take a break and get your breath back. Hopefully any more of that ‘person’s victims will come forward and get his time in the sin bin extended through the end of his life..

    • roswellivory August 14, 2014 at 12:42 pm #

      Thankyou so, so much or all the kind words and support.

      R x

  4. Ella darling August 5, 2014 at 7:27 pm #

    Roswell Ivory, thank you so much for campaigning against Shaun. I shot with him several years ago and luckily I escaped the worst of it. However he asked me intimate questions and was completely inappropriate as a photographer. There are a lot of fantastic photographers out there but people like him give them a bad name. Unfortunately he is not the worst I have experienced nor he will the last person to take advantage of their position. But from what I have learnt from modelling is to reference people and more should be done for models to find out information. I hope other models learn from this too. So thank you again for standing up for yourself and all over models out there.
    Ella darling

    • roswellivory August 14, 2014 at 2:17 pm #

      Hello Ella!

      I’ve always loved your work- I didn’t realise you’d shot with Shaun too, but am glad you are okay. I’m also sorry you have had other bad experiences. :( I agree that this kind of thing is very very rare but tars all the fantastic photographers with the same brush.
      I think checking references is the easiest way to be as sure as possibly that you are safe- and if a bad experience happens. reporting it! Nothing can be done about the worst offenders until the police know there is a problem.
      If you haven’t already, I urge you to let them know you also shot with Shaun as they are trying to increase his sentence. No matter how trivial-seeming your experience was, the more voices speak then the easier it is to build a picture of his character.

      My very best wishes and hugs to you. Take care,

      Roswell xx

  5. Tony Segura August 6, 2014 at 1:41 am #

    Way to go girl! Love that chocolate!

  6. Simon Craven August 12, 2014 at 9:51 am #

    Just came here via The TImes piece and I take your point about the editing and subsequent imbalance in relation to the other women he predated upon. But even so it is good that this whole business has become known on the widest possible scale.

    Today no-one in the world looks LESS vulnerable than you. Going public can’t have been easy so well done for standing up.

    • roswellivory August 14, 2014 at 1:06 pm #

      Hello there,

      Thankyou for taking the time to send me a message of support- I really appreciate it and the kindness I have received has been overwhelming. My very best wishes,

      R x

  7. Katie Model August 12, 2014 at 10:39 am #

    Dear Roswell,

    I want to extend my admiration and bravery you have shown in the Shaun Colclough case. It takes a lot of courage and persistence to step forward as you did and many models and women are now safer as a result. I also had the experience of doing a very uncomfortable semi-nude test shoot with Colclough 4 years ago. Though my experience didn’t include any sexually physical abuse, it was by far my worst, most uncomfortable and gut wrenching experience working with that man. He then put the pictures on his online blog with my full name attached to them, creating a lot of personal stress and trauma to get them taken off the web.

    I wish you all the best and hope you can look forward to a stress free future now justice has been done. Please be proud of what you have achieved in bringing light and justice to what has happened. My thoughts are with the other women who were directly affected and testified bravely against this dreadful man also.

    Katie x

    • roswellivory August 14, 2014 at 2:08 pm #

      Hello, Katie.

      Thankyou so much for taking the time so mail me. I’m sorry you had to work with this monster too and I’m glad that you are okay. I’m sending you my best wishes and hugs. I promise, you are far from alone. He’s in jail now, where he belongs and there is a nationwide witness appeal so we can try and get his sentence extended!
      I understand no physical sexual abuse happened but the more voices there are, the better the police can paint a picture of this man’s character and so if you feel you can, I urge you to call the police and report your experience. They are very keen to hear from anyone who suffered with him- no matter how seemingly insignificant. I also didn’t think my encounter was bad enough to warrant speaking about (at first) but it helped put him in prison.

      I wish you every success for the future and hope you have a fantastic day/week/year etc.

      Roswell xx

  8. R August 12, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

    Hi. When I read The Times article, and came to the final words (that you said) “you look vulnerable to me”, I got chills. I wanted to throw my fist in the air and shout it too, for anyone out there who has been done an injustice. I was empowered. You were a part of that, whatever angle The Times came from…you were a part of something very powerful. Thank you.

    • roswellivory August 14, 2014 at 12:51 pm #

      LOL! Thankyou so, so much!!! I like that they quoted that correctly. I just wish they had focussed more on the other women.

      R x

  9. Edward August 12, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

    Hi Roswell,

    I’ve just read the Times and your blog, sorry that you got “Skeeter-ed”. I know very little about the industry but for the little it’s worth, I wanted to say that I think what you and the other girls did was exceptionally courageous. It’s appalling to hear that someone would be so arrogant to try and take such blatant advantage of someone when in a position of professional trust. Glad you stood up, keep looking forward.

    All the best.

    • roswellivory August 14, 2014 at 1:30 pm #

      Hello there,

      Thankyou so much for your support. We really appreciate all the good wishes and kind words we have heard throughout this time.

      R xx

  10. leilaalexandra August 15, 2014 at 8:04 pm #

    Roswell your blog is still doing wonders! I would like to second your suggestion to Ella and Katie that they make statements to the Police telling of their experiences! Colclough was wholly abusive on every level and there is certainly strength in numbers!! xxx

    • roswellivory August 29, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

      Thanks love! :D
      Many hugs and good things wished to you

      xxxxx

  11. Claire August 18, 2014 at 8:55 pm #

    you should be so loud of yourself- I have no idea what it felt like to go through all that but the fact you came out the other side so strong and able to help other women is amazing!

    • Claire August 19, 2014 at 10:05 am #

      that should say proud! not loud

    • roswellivory August 29, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

      Thankyou so much- I’m amazed and grateful for all the support we have received. :) I’ve been away recuperating but should have a new blog up v soon.

      R xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

