Musing Maenad

1 May

Blessed be! It’s Beltane today- the pagan celebration of love and blossoming! It is said to be one of two days in which the veil between our world and the Otherworld is thinnest. Look at this fairyworld- it’s one of the locations I visited in Scotland. :)

WP_20140419_016

If it is true that our universe is infinite, then there are an infinite number of possibilities out there. I like to think that on some plane of our existence, the rustlings and swayings of the woodland are made by things other than birds and squirrels…

I’ve had a lovely few days catching up with some of my friends- both international, and just very busy. On Monday, I went for afternoon tea in Piccadilly with jet-setters Ian And Shae and purple-haired Swedes Malin and Thomas.
On Tuesday I visited a beautiful tea shop for scones with Ivory Flame, Madame Bink, and Major the dachsund- who I do not get to see often enough! So much love to all of my friends. :)

During my shoot with Greeneye photography in February, I made a Maenad-inspired outfit. Maenads were traditionally crazed wine-drinking followers of the god Bacchus, running around in ecstatic frenzy while ripping things up, but I like C.S. Lewis’s version (fierce, wild women having a celebration).

Here’s one in a quiet riverside musing session having finished her wine…

I made the entire outfit myself, including the headdress. I can’t wait to make more- the material is sooo beautiful!

1

3

5

6

I’m writing a piece about love, purity culture and sex which is opening my eyes to some interesting world customs, and if you haven’t already found my piece for Kinkly Magazine about sexiness then here it is: http://www.kinkly.com/2/1386/lets-talk-about-it/sex-industry/a-fetish-models-tips-for-looking-and-feeling-sexy
And speaking of sexy, I have taken delivery of the most GORGEOUS latex outfit by Dawnamatrix (one of my favourite designers and well worth a look.) And it’s all mine as this one is not on loan- hooray! Would you like a sneak peek? ;)

WP_20140430_003

I’ve just had a sudden influx of bookings from photographers wanting to take advantage of the beautiful weather- which I always look forward to. If you’d like the chance to book me, get in touch as soon as possible because once the flowers go, they’re gone for this year. (And then we’re onto the summer meadows, hay bales and turning leaves again).
As certain obligations are keeping me in the country, I’m enjoying taking myself around the locations I don‘t often reach. (Good news for you in Yorkshire, Leicester, Hull, Isle of Wight and Cork!)

As it’s grey and raining, I’m going to enjoy photos and art inspired by nature while having a coffee and mid-morning snack of dark chocolate. I hope you have a lovely May Day! :)

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. Nooooo! I was only watching a Bob Hoskins film* the other night when I commented about how sad it was that he’d died… and then remembered I was talking about Pete Postlethwaite. Now I hear that Bob Hoskins really has died! I’m so sorry, Bob Hoskins- I didn’t mean to… :S
On that note, Doomsday is a fantastic film and if you think otherwise, go and sit in the corner and think about what you’ve done. Mediaeval knights vs. Glaswegian cannibal punks vs. the police… with a virus? (Oh, and Bob Hoskins.) Hell yes.

4 Responses to “Musing Maenad”

  1. christhegoth May 1, 2014 at 9:49 am #

    Mmmm, Pretty Pagans…

    Yeah, we need more of these about I’d say. Can you work Leather & fight with an Axe? Asking for a friend ;)

    • roswellivory May 2, 2014 at 11:55 am #

      Thanks! I can wear leather but don’t know the first thing about fighting with axes I’m afraid.

  2. Harry Smart May 1, 2014 at 10:05 am #

    Just so you know, I really enjoy the way you manage to be completely mad and very civilised at the same time. Reminds me a bit of a friend of mine called Ros (Erosanne as was. You may know her).. I’m not sure I can afford your rates but if you should be in Scotland again and could reach Montrose .. there is a harbour, but I fear your vessel would not care for a coastal foray. Nonetheless, we do try to provide hospitality for wayfarers, which naturally includes seafarers, mayfairers, bacchants and maeinads. We get all sorts here.

    H

    I’ve never felt quite so centred.

    • roswellivory May 2, 2014 at 12:10 pm #

      Hi there,

      LOL!!! Why, thankyou! That had made my day. :) I know of Erosanne but haven’t met her sadly.

      Do you have a preferred portfolio link? I’ll send you a message when I retun to Scotland if you would like?

      R x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers

