Show me that horizon…

21 Mar

If you didn’t read my Cloud Orchid interview, shame on you for you missed my news! :P
The reason I’ve been quiet recently (apart from all the travel) is that I have bought my very own houseboat and am in the middle of painting her and making her live-able. I’m being terribly indecisive about what colours she should be inside but the bathroom will most definitely be sea monster themed.
I know a couple of you have asked about boatwarming gifts, which is very kind of you- but I am only going to have 400 square feet so I’m waiting to live on board for a while before I start buying stuff. I have added one or two small bits to my wishlists because I can’t resist though. :P
http://amzn.com/w/1I31U6AR7459S
http://www.amazon.co.uk/registry/wishlist/GL98WLTXKM9

I just cannot wait to have a kitchen and teeny herb garden and have been filling my Pinterest boards up with recipes and craft ideas. I will share any good ones with you of course. ;)

Though I have been crazily busy, I have jetted off to Amsterdam to model for Ardita Fetish Fashion at Dominatrix, which is my very favourite international event and I’m looking forward to seeing the pictures from the show! It was a first ever for me- I went blonde!
Here’s me with Miss Mandy from Sweden:
Image
It was also my first fashion show where all the models had the same hair and make up. We were all badass fetish angels- look at our thorny crowns!!!

I then let my hair down (literally) for the afterparty- though next time I’ll wear something I can dance in! If you don’t know already, I am a goofy idiot, especially when I am confronted with very specific (and so very clearly illustrated) signs. :P
Image

I spent the last day drinking tea and eating yummy cake with friends. Roll on next party- where I plan to enter the “Miss Fetish Europe” contest. You heard it here first!

So, last time I visited the North, I worked with Andy Greeneye, whose photographs look like paintings from a bygone era. We pooled our ideas and one of those ideas involved a mermaid-y creature. Pretty fitting for a pirate-in-training, I think!
The song “How I Became The Sea”, by Owl City was in my head the entire time this set was being shot. Although people are all debating what it’s about, to me it’s bloody obvious that it’s about a shipwreck. (Hopefully that won’t jinx my new home- “How I Became The Canal” doesn’t really have a ring to it) :P

“And then, when the Empress ran aground…
Image

…and my eyes turned blue and green…
Image

…I heard a gorgeous sound, and that’s when it became a dream.
Image

When the sky fell in, when the hurricanes came for me…
Image

…I could finally crash again, and that’s how I became the sea”
Image

Though the song itself isn’t wonderful (with an unnecessary bleepy bit at the end), the chorus does give me the shivers. I’ve always been fascinated by the unseen world under the ocean and the old days of sailing when people actually thought you’d fall off the end of the earth if you sailed too far. You all know how much I love my nature documentaries, but a tiny part of me loves the idea of unidentified creatures being “sea monsters” sent by Poseidon from a barnacle-encrusted throne beneath the surface…

Image Image

Ship by Ruslan Eliseev. Polar bear by Paul Souders.

If you like ships and mystery and the stuff above, read “The Liveship Traders” trilogy, by Robin Hobb. I’ve just finished it for the second time. ;)

I have to get up early for boat stuff and it is wayyyyy past my bedtime. Speak to you soon!

LAST WORD: Thankyou, thankyou, THANKYOU to the lovely DeviantArt menber who was kind enough to buy me Premium membership! If you are reading this, a personal message is coming to you shortly. :)

ROSWELL xxx

16 Responses to “Show me that horizon…”

  1. Kurt Krueger March 21, 2014 at 4:21 am #

    I think that I love the “No Sex” snapshot more than any nude you’ve ever done. Just great! HA! It makes you a real person – and I would SO love to work with you if you ever come to Florida. :)

    • roswellivory March 21, 2014 at 7:55 pm #

      LOL!!! Thankyou! I laughed for ages when I saw that. :D

  2. Ian Marks March 21, 2014 at 6:00 am #

    Congratulations on getting the Houseboat…!!

  3. Tony Segura March 21, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

    Beautiful series, but I LOVE that “No Sex” picture! Are you going to post it on dA?
    Thank You, Tony Segura

    • roswellivory April 2, 2014 at 2:26 pm #

      Lol! Thanks- I think I’ll keep it off DA as I mostly post professional pictures on there. (I like to give people something different on every site I’m on). :)

  4. Tonko Alexandru March 23, 2014 at 10:52 am #

    I kiss your hand ! Very beautiful photo’s

  5. Frivolous Monsters March 26, 2014 at 2:11 pm #

    Congratulations on finding a home. I had assumed – perhaps naively – that a houseboat would be a cheaper option in this day and age but then I saw an article on Newsnight the other day about inheritance tax on properties over a million, and how many places this now affects in London. The cameraman then panned back and they pointed out that the houseboat on the canal there, in front of the house, cost eight hundred thousand itself! Shocking. I hope you’ve not forked out anywhere near that much or you’ll be working until 200! I saw that and thought of you.
    FM

    • roswellivory April 2, 2014 at 2:27 pm #

      Thankyou so much! No, I’m not in London. I’ve spent under 20,000 on everything- that includes boat, mooring, hull care- everything. That’s less than many house deposits these days so everything’s cool so far. :)

      • Frivolous Monsters April 2, 2014 at 4:09 pm #

        Speaking as someone who still isn’t on the “housing ladder” I congratulate you. I don’t know how much I would have thought a houseboat should have cost, but that sounds much more reasonable. Talking of hull care I used to work (briefly) in marine antifouling paint, which is very expensive, although I guess being worried about barnacles slowing you down by drag isn’t too much of a consideration for barges as it is for high-speed sea-going liners.

        • roswellivory April 4, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

          Thankyou! I’m now a bit penniless but I’ll survive. ;)
          Nope, barnacles aren’t such an issue though I was surprised to see so many shells on the hull when she was pulled out for blacking! :)

  6. lifelongrivalry April 3, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

    Hey there!

    Sorry I haven’t commented on your posts in a while! You always write so well and have such an amazing life!

    I was wondering if you would be interested in doing an interview for radio. Next week, I’ll start working at a Viennese radio station and I thought you would be great as you have such a different lifestyle and your opinions on feminism are always well informed and well structured.

    Let me know what you think! :)

    xxxx

    • lifelongrivalry April 3, 2014 at 1:30 pm #

      Sorry, this is Liddy by the way! (Random girl from the UK who moved to Vienna). I have an actual wordpress account now :P

      xxxx

      • roswellivory April 4, 2014 at 3:47 pm #

        It’s cool- I can usually identify my regular commenters by their posts alone (which is rather lovely). I hope Vienna is still treating you well!

        xxx

    • roswellivory April 4, 2014 at 3:49 pm #

      Hey hey! Lovely to hear from you, and thankyou! :D

      Oh wow!! That sounds so exciting! I’d love to be interviewed- give me a mail through my website and we’ll sort something out.
      XD

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

