The Red Woman

26 Feb

I was writing such a long in-depth blog about the new gender options on Facebook but it turns out Facebook has already implemented the solution I was going to offer. Well done, Facebook! :P

In short, instead of merely Female/Male, the social networking gods offered fifty-one new options for listing your gender. I absolutely agree that gender can be fluid and not quite as simple as ‘one or the other’- but while there will never be a box for everyone out there, it that necessarily a bad thing?
Despite Russia and Uganda’s best efforts, the world is slowly learning more about itself and accepting it’s inhabitants, but attempting to provide a box for every single person’s gender preference at every given time is neither proof of acceptance nor an effective way to combat ignorance. In fact, to me, the myriad words and options appeared to satirise rather than solve the problem!
A little like this: (NOT a real JS episode- it’s a clip from “Domino”): Watch up until about 1:20

While it is never nice to feel you don’t fit in, the thing is, nobody completely fits in with a label; I have a vagina, I identify as female, I am attracted to both genders (one more so than the other), I do not dress in a typically female or male style, I do not want children, I have a typically female-looking body, I am not sure if I would be attracted to somebody especially androgynous or trans- the situation hasn’t happened yet! These are elements of me as far as gender is concerned. Ingredients that make me who I am and the only label needed to tie them together is my name. No box needed.

My solution was to remove all the labels and replace them with an ‘other’ box in which people could write their preference. This way, everybody is included. When I attempted to change my gender to see the options, I was offered ‘Male’, ‘Female’, or the very box I suggested. I love it when a plan comes together… :D

___________________________

I’m counting down to moving day next month. I’ve never been hunting for home decor before- there’s going to be a Kraken/Cthulhu-themed room but I can’t decide what colour the rest of the rooms should be! There is an easily customisable area outside that I can shoot on so my thinking cap is firmly on!

I worked with photographer Luci-Alice in December, shooting some accessories for Kaori’s Latex Dreams. She’s a fantastic designer with very elegant work. Some of our pictures were snapped up by Kirameki magazine in an instant- and here they are!

1P74P75

1964588_10153811988220063_495511993_n

The first dress is by Pandora Deluxe and all headpieces and collars are by Kaori.
I did all hair and make-up.

Here are some more…

DSC_7902

DSC_7890

DSC_8073

DSC_8010

I’m going to have a lovely homemade chai latte and work on a long-abandoned teens novel. :)

Speak to you very soon, and remember today is #WordyWednesday so if you have any questions for me, get in touch via Tumblr and I’ll answer!

ROSWELL xxx

2 Responses to “The Red Woman”

  1. Harkenroad February 27, 2014 at 11:46 am #

    Was unaware of Kaori’s Latex Dreams, but they (and you) are that. Stunned too, by Liv Free’s headdress shown with the ‘Adrienne Collar’.

    Kraken/Cthulhu-themed room? Wonder if anyone crafts tentacle-shaped bathroom fixtures …

    Fifty-one individual check boxes for gender identification strikes me as wrong-headed as well as massively unwieldy. Would not a better metaphor be an array of several 0-to-100% sliders of the sort found on sound mixing boards? Personalities are mixtures of tones and hues along multiple continua which shift with time; as you correctly observe, we can’t be pinned down into discrete, fixed data points. ;)

    • roswellivory March 5, 2014 at 12:19 am #

      I’ve known Kaori for years and it has been lovely seeing her go from strength to strength. :)

      Lol! Oh, there are indeed. I’ve been adding things to my Pinterest board like crazy and as soon as I get a spare second, I’ll find some things for my Amazon wishlist. There are some cushions I have my eye on. (I feel like such a housewife, lol!!!)

      Totally agree- sometimes the box doesn’t fit and you need to just pick whichever is most accurate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers

