Rotterdam, or anywhere…

17 Jun

“There are only two things I hate: people who are intolerant of other people’s cultures……… and the DUTCH!!!”
Not really- I’m quoting Austin Powers. The Dutch are really lovely. :P

I’ve based myself in a coffee shop in Utrecht, where after three days the staff still find my fascination with the hot chocolate hilarious. (In Holland, hot chocolate is made by melting chocolate buttons into hot milk.)
WP_20130613_016

I’ve had an intense few days of studio workshops that have passed in a slick of latex, and a fantastic shoot with Ardi-foto for Ardita fashion in some amazing locations. (I can’t show you the finished results yet as they’re for publication, but here’s a behind-the-scenes from outfit #2, by Dawnamatrix (bra-top) and HMSlatex (chest-harness)
We were in the local paintball shooting range- I’ll tell you all about it later when I’ve collected up the rest of the BTS shots.
WP_20130612_024


I also visited Rotterdam for one night- I’d arrived on a Friday evening but found it the most peaceful, beautiful place I have been in a long time. My camera died shortly after I began my walk, but I visited the local park, which had green parakeets and just about every river bird I knew (and a few more I didn’t). I only wanted to check it out, but ended up sitting by the river for about an hour, watching the sun set behind a tiny peninsula where a family of moorhens had gathered under a weeping willow.

As I have no pictures of one of the most magical evenings of my travels, have some shots of the harbour and a different bird family. (Six ducklings- they must be so proud!) :D
WP_20130614_006

WP_20130614_011

WP_20130614_012

WP_20130614_009
Oh, and there are sculptures everywhere. Go to the bottom to see a gnome with a buttplug. (See what I did there? *Snigger… Snort…*)

Art Critic Heron is impressed!
WP_20130615_009


Now I’m back in Utrecht, I’m about to go and check out a little boat-cafe I saw a few days ago, but thought you might like to see a couple pictures I forgot to post, from all the way back in January, with Guy Bisson. :)

ROSWELL_147

ROSWELL_207

ROSWELL_210-640x360

Oh yes! And the voting has ended now for the Deep Down and Kinky Awards- thankyou so much to everyone who voted for me- it really does make me happy to see my work recognised. Many virtual computer hugs to you all. :)

On that note, I’m in an advert in Retribution Magazine, along with my good friend Anita De Bauch. Photo by David Long.
935886_10151365895921266_1207709269_n

I’m going off to dream on a boat now! And maybe even write, fingers crossed…

Speak to you all soon…

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. How could I forget…
Stop it, Rotterdam!

WP_20130615_007

6 Responses to “Rotterdam, or anywhere…”

  1. Frivolous Monsters June 17, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    I had a hot chocolate at the “European” Christmas outdoor markets in Manchester last year and they give you a chocolate on a stick which you have to melt yourself, presumably in hot milk, in a very small cup. I found it quite disappointing as it was only warm in the end. I hope yours was better indoors.

    And that’s a very tiny heron.

    FM

    • roswellivory June 18, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

      Oh, I take mine off the spoon and stick it in the microwave, lol!!

      Aww! Poor heron! It was pouring with rain and he was all scrunched up.

      Xx

      • Frivolous Monsters June 18, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

        But he’s got tiny legs. They’re no good for wading. I’m guessing he must only be baby. We’ve had a pond for 18 months now and this has prompted one visit from the local heron. They are tremendous sights up close. He didn’t get any fish.

        • roswellivory June 18, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

          Tiny legs?! He’s an art critic with dignity, he’ll have you know! :P

          I love herons but cannot pronounce the word in Dutch. Lucky you- I want a pond.

          X

  2. Tony Segura June 17, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    Too bad your camera died D:. But you should post the photo of the gnome with the butt plug!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

