‘spiration

31 Mar

Happy slightly-belated Ostara and blessed be to my fellow pagans, Happy Easter to my Christian friends, and Happy International Chocolate Scoffing Day to everyone else. ;)

Oh, viewers, I’ve been neglecting you! I had some fantastic news about my writing and so I dropped everything in order to meet a scary deadline. Pleased to say that the deadline was in fact, today and I made it!!! I have finished my second draft (which is the final major draft) of my novel so I can now stop ending entries with “got to go- I’m stuck on Chapter Nine”! ;)

So, what other news can I tell you? Well, I’ve lost half a stone and that’s what I’d like to tell you all about today. :D
Now, if somebody large enough to be considered unhealthy by today’s society decides to lose weight, the world is in general, supportive. However, as a model and person of about average (maybe a little smaller than average) size, I find that if I mention toning up, losing weight or exercising, I find myself fielding the same questions on a regular basis. Now, I could rant, but as I’ve already had one of those recently and am feeling happy today, I’m going to take the time to have a chat about it all…

“What diet are you following?”
I do not believe diets promote sustainability so what I have done is change my entire lifestyle:
– Exercise as many days as possible (if it’s a busy day, leave it and don’t feel bad)
– Drink more water
– Begin each day with a green smoothie.
– Cut down on dairy significantly
– Cut out sweet things entirely, with the exception of fruit.

“Is this due to industry pressure?”
Yes, and no.
I am capable of quite surprising greed. (I do not mean ‘three chocolates and a diet Coke”- I mean I am capable of eating an entire tub of ice cream in one go. Not that I do this any more, but I have been known to. Mostly as a student…) Ignoring the potential weight gain for a moment, this is not a balanced or healthy way of living. When I’m writing, I spend all day on my butt in front of the computer and get no exercise at all, which is also less-than-healthy. Therefore, no. I’m doing this for me.
However, I see nude pictures of myself almost daily which form a relatively accurate ‘size diary’. If I am untoned, I do not find myself as attractive as when I am toned. I am naturally very curvy with large muscular thighs, therefore I will usually be bigger than most models I am paired with. As long as I am toned and healthy like a comic book heroine, I can accept this. However, if my muscles are hidden under a little bit of fat and I’ve eaten badly all month, then of course I feel self-conscious. In this way, yes- I am doing this so I look better in my images and I do not feel this is a bad thing.

“You don’t want to look like Kate Moss, do you?”
If I wanted to resemble Kate Moss, I would snort my bodyweight in cocaine, stop giving the impression I have any grey matter between my ears and purr “get the London look” at regular intervals. (Not a Moss fan here- can you tell?) ;)
In all seriousness though, I am losing fat in order to show off the toned muscles underneath. I am not trying to change my body shape. I have breasts, a bum and thighs. Unless I became very very ill, this would not change no matter how thin I got.

“But you’re beautiful as you are!”
That is so very kind of you, and thankyou! I really do appreciate the sentiment, but I would like to be a little- just a little- smaller, and so I am working hard to achieve that.

Most people who spend a lot of time online know about what people like Dawn Porter call “that SHOCKING trend for… ugh… ‘thinspiration’. Oh… oh my god, I can’t BELIEVE IT!” Basically, it is inspiration for people with eating disorders- words, pictures, GIFs etc that encourage unhealthy weight loss.
However, I discovered FITspiration by accident a little while ago and have enjoyed following blogs and saving images ever since. It is what I would call an antidote to thinspiration- promoting health and exercise over weight loss, though there are some good weight loss ones too. I’d like to share some of my “fit folder” images with you.

tumblr_m7wr3hUMTj1ryp4qio1_500

tumblr_m965q7tyAa1rnhmhjo1_500

tumblr_mf7u6py2Oc1ryrwexo1_500

tumblr_mcs0jhAZw51rezx4go1_500

tumblr_miklq2pV4Y1rxlj8po1_500

tumblr_m8olik5bwJ1r8zwpno1_500

If you’d like to see more, just google “fitspiration” and if you have a question I haven’t covered, feel free to mail me- I always respond to messages and comments. :)

For now though, have a lovely picture I forgot to post a year ago! It’s by Artrotika and I’m looking all tranquil and balanced. Just the way I feel at the moment! :D

861-1091821951

See you soon, everyone- I have to go and wri… wait, no. I’m going to put my feet up!

ROSWELL xxx

8 Responses to “‘spiration”

  1. Chris Walter April 1, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    I believe we all have relationship with food and a conception of how we should be seen by ourselves and others.
    Some relationships will be casual, almost peripheral to our lives, some relationships obsessive to the point if all consuming[¿].
    Just keeping busy and doing something you enjoy that doesn’t involve food and alcohol will be a good start.
    Since Christmas I’ve lost pounds without noticing by doing 3 shoots a day twice a week and minimizing post-processing so I’m not sitting in front of a screen.
    Skipping a meal midday without tummy complaints by having porridge and smoothies!

    • roswellivory April 3, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

      Hi there!
      Absolutely- while I hate the idea of “eat to live, don’t live to eat” as I very much enjoy food, I think it is equally sad getting obsessed with it.
      I eat very healthily and am teetotal anyway so for me, the important part has been increasing my exercise. (I was reminded the other day, you don’t find time- you make time. I keep forgetting that!) :P

      That’s cool- I’m hoping that’ll happen when I reach Scotland this month- I’m booked solid!
      Porridge and smoothies rock. I’ll be posting recipes at another time. :D

      R x

  2. EyesOnAleks April 2, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    Hey!
    You’v got extremly entertaining blog and beautiful photos :)
    I am also writing a blog on models and modeling, i am new at this tho :)
    Check it out :
    DELETED- I WILL NOT PUBLISH “THINSPIRATION”
    Also follow me on twitter: DELETED
    Cheers!

    • roswellivory April 3, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

      Hello there!

      Thankyou so much for your kind words. It looks like an interesting blog and it covers an area of modelling (fashion) that I do not know much about.

      However, I am quite alarmed at the advice you are giving about losing weight. (Enly’s very simple and clear advice was actually the best, in my opinion. Looking at her, she is a wonderful advert for her advice as she’s beautiful!)

      Firstly, you keep saying things like “do you want to be lazy and fat?” and “this makes you fat.” This feels VERY “thinspiration”-like to me. It is exactly what appears on thinspo pictures. Just because you have eaten a pizza does not make you lazy or fat and shaming people is not the way to encourage them to get healthy.

      I’m not even sure where to start with the “model diet”.
      – Exercise on an empty stomach?? No, your body will have no energy with which to do the workout and instead of burning fat, it’ll burn muscle.
      – Hydrate with three litres of water (tea- coffee…) Coffee DEHYDRATES you. This is truly worrying advice. Stick to water, or water with a slice of lemon, which boosts your immune system.
      – Don’t eat carbs for two hours after running. Okay, so what should you eat? Bearing in mind you’ve been awake now, with no food, for three hours. (???)
      – The meal plans? Yes, water and fresh fruit/veg should make up over half of a very healthy diet, but this looks like starvation to me and despite it being called a “model diet”, I know NO models who live that way. Carbs are part of a healthy diet, as are essential fats and oils.

      While I’m sure some models on European catwalks do starve themselves (in fact, it’s common knowledge), this surely is not what we want to encourage people to do? Especially considering the age of your target audience (as you are writing about getting agents for fashion modelling, that would be early teens).

      I’d also look closely at the images you use to illustrate articles about “real life”. You illustrated the “what models really eat” piece with one model eating salad and another (with equally good skin) eating chips, which undermines what you are saying, and then the last image is so heavily photoshopped that nobody could possibly look like that. There are better examples of healthy people.

      I do hope you don’t take this the wrong way and think I’m being rude or snarky- it certainly is not my intention. I think your site and blog have potential and you can take or leave my advice- it’s freely given. :)

      R x

      • eyesonaleks April 3, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

        Alright, I understand your point, thanks for your comment:) It might be that. But honestly , i am working with models for couple of years now so i am speaking mostly of my experience with models. its necessary to point out again and again, that Dose makes them fatter. Every centimeter you can gain might mean a LOT. Let me point one thing tho – If you are doing strick dieting, and then suddenly you eat one pizza. And then after that comes another for sure, and then another :) If person gets weak and looses his/her discipline with the diet, then its all over. :) Oh, also i have to mention that this is not a diet for a normal person, it is a diet for a model to get in shape in a very short period of time. For example , if you got hips at 95 but you need tham at 88 , you can accomplish that in short period of time by following this discipline. I totally agree that you can allow yourself a pizza once in a while , i just want to say that when you are model, there is no way to eat pizza when you are departing for NYFW and you got hips at 93 :) Thanks for reading my blog :)

        • roswellivory April 8, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

          Oh, I do not doubt that such diets work, but frankly, so does sticking your finger down your throat and I’m actually quite saddened that you are promoting this kind of extreme to teenage girls and aspiring models rather than working on changing the industry. (It’s something Erin O’Connor- one of your pictured models- has often spoken about).

          You have the right to post anything you wish online but if someone finds your rather dangerous advice, it will not be through my blog as I am deleting your link.

  3. falstaff36 April 11, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    I have to tell you, my dearest Roswell, that you’ve beautifully explained everything that I could have possibly worried about with you losing weight. Mine mind is now very much set at ease…. :D

    • roswellivory April 13, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

      Oh good! That’s very nice of you to say, and Thankyou. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

