The Tradition

11 Mar

Well, I’m definitely being traditional right now- packing for my shoot tomorrow (stately home- vintage pin-up!) while e-mailing while writing novel while trying to decide between coffee and the other hot drinks I have. Good old multi-tasking!

It was while thinking about writing this blog that I realised I hadn’t posted any ‘classic Roswell’ art-nude images in a while- so I found this lovely set by Tim Pile which haven’t been on here before. :) We had a lovely day shooting among standing stones in the wilds of Dartmoor before this studio day so I can’t wait to return to the area of course. I do love my standing stones…

These images were taken in Stuart House- a lovely hidden-away place near Cornwall.

_IGP0846

_IGP0900

_IGP0913

Looking at these pics make me a very happy lady- I’m going to talk about it in an upcoming blogpost, but I’ve spent the past year or so working on improving my body, which has included losing quite a bit of weight (these pics- especially the 3rd one- are an accurate representation of how I look now). But that’s another story… all about nutrition and food and colours! :D

Now, a couple of entries back, I was talking about how horror films aren’t too scary these days. A few minutes ago, I put my words on a Ryvita with houmous and ate them. Sort of.
I watched “Splice” last night, which is something I’ve wanted to see for ages but my sci-fi friends weren’t keen on the horror aspect and my horror friends saiid ‘eurgh, sci-fi.’ Long story short, no one wanted to go. It definitely is more sci-fi than horror, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t scary. I think it depends very much on what frightens you more:
Imaginary Scenario 1: A character is hiding from something. You can’t see it, they can’t see it but you know that any second, it’s going to appear and make you jump out of your seat. Any second, any second, any second. ARGH!!! You jumped anyway.
Imaginary Scenario 2: A character is hiding from something or someone. They can’t see it, but behind them in a pool, you see a head appear, and shoulders, and finally it moves closer and closer as you scrunch up in your seat so you are very small.

For me, while I jump very easily, the second scene is creepier, and this is what Splice is full of. You know something bad is going to happen- something bad is always going to happen when you play around with genetics and hybrids, but it’s still like watching a car crash that you just can’t stop as more and more bad things get pulled into the wreck.

One thing that should be mentioned: It is disturbing. Very disturbing. I’m talking mutilation and sexual violence, and eventually I was unsure exactly who to feel sorry for. I just watched an interview with one of the actresses, who mentioned the difficulty of only having two words in the entire film, but, wow. She manages to convey everything with body language and you want to take care of the character, even when she behaves badly. Given that this character though the entire film behaves in a certain way, it makes one particular scene even more disturbing (and I think you have to watch the whole film to understand so I won’t post it here).
The ending… yep, creepy but something about it just didn’t ring true. If you’ve seen the film and disagree, come and have an argument :P (just kidding- no arguing here).
So… yes, if you’re looking for scary films, check out that one.

More reviews and writing and stuff coming soon, though right now my book is taking priority- so close to finishing! Wish me luck… ;)

ROSWELL xxx

10 Responses to “The Tradition”

  1. Romantic Dominant March 12, 2013 at 12:27 am #

    Great review

    As for the photographs. Pure delight. I am going to work out how to use my expensive camera … Smiles

  2. Frivolous Monsters March 12, 2013 at 12:38 am #

    I love the top one with the windows!
    Good luck with the book.
    FM

    • roswellivory March 14, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

      Thanking you! So so I- I want those windows in my house. :D

      And thanks- writing like crazy and crossing my fingers!

  3. Tim Coon March 23, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    I rather loved “Splice”, particularly since I’m a fan of pretty much anything that one of the two stars of that movie, my countryman Sarah Polley….She never fails to disappoint, whether she’s in front of the camera, or acting as director/writer behind the camera, especially in this magnificently touching movie that she made 6 years ago called “Away from her”. Truly beautiful stuff….. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0491747/

    As to your weight loss of the past year… ;) You do look fantastic, to be sure. But let me one of those people who says that you’ve ALWAYS looked absolutely fantastic to me, so there was never any need , in my eyes, for you to lose any weight. I hope it wasn’t, however subtly, motivated by some kind of industry pressure to make yourself rail thin like Kate Moss in some manner. I’ll just say that if losing this weight has you feeling healthier than before….then great, I am truly glad for you for that, then. I’ll just reiterate that I’ve always absolutely loved how you look & don’t think there was ever a need to lose any weight at all…. *hugs* :D

    • roswellivory March 27, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

      I did too, though I didn’t know any of the actors. Thanks for the movie tip-off! I’ll check it out when I’m looking for some films. :)

      And thankyou so much. That is very kind of you. While it is mostly for myself- the hard fact is that as I see nude photos of myself on an almost day to day basis, I notice very quickly when I put on weight and I’m often the biggest model in the room (most art-nude ladies are very petite.)
      I have absolutely no intention of looking like Kate Moss- I want to keep my curves and like looking more toned.

      I have a blog coming all about it very soon. :D

      R x

  4. Tim Coon March 23, 2013 at 8:53 am #

    P.S……Almost there with the book!! You can do it.. :D

    • roswellivory March 27, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanking you! One more chapter (and a quarter) to go…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

