So much news… and flexy progress (3)

22 May

Well, I’m back! (And this post’s going to be a long one!)

I’ve had an article published in the first issue of iMoshe- a new online magazine showcasing artists, photographers and models. My column is called “Tales From The Nude” and it’s about the various experiences I have had as a nude model. This issue, it’s about embarrassment (or the lack of it at times!)
I’d love for you to go and read it- the link is HERE, and my piece is over pages 58-62

I also have a little feature in Issue 5 of Gorgeous Freaks magazine- the tearsheets are below. I have also pasted my original words (in 1st person) below as it was printed in 3rd person and I’m a little worried I didn’t come across in the way I intended. :S

My name’s Roswell Ivory- I nearly became a paranormal investigator (hence the name) but somehow I became a fetish model and writer!
As I travel internationally for work, I live quite a nomadic life and love to get to know the cities and wildernesses that are the backdrops for my photoshoots. (I’ll be in Berlin next month walking at the Fetish Weekend and am looking forward to my trip to New York in the Autumn.)
I get a lot of my inspiration from science fiction and action films- especially the costumes most of the female characters wear, so I loved latex and leather before I became a model. If I could strap my clothing on with leather and buckles every day, I would. (I’m working on it!)
In the past few years, I’ve learned a lot more about what can be done with latex! I like the way the current vintage revival has met the fetish fashion scene- and now we’re seeing 50’s style dresses in rubber and spats made from coloured leather.
I love photoshoots in which I am able to style myself- as I have great working relationships with some very talented designers, I enjoy having the opportunity to put together their outfits with my own hair and make-up styling.

For a decade (literally), I was bullied at school for everything from my name to my nose and I barely went a day without hearing the word “freak”. I am now happy to claim that word as a compliment!
I write about my life on my blog at http://roswellivory.wordpress.com and I regularly have articles published in a variety of other magazines. I write about anything- including fashion, fetish life, modelling, feminism and current affairs. I also am planning a charity event in aid of anti-bullying week in November as it’s a subject that is close to me.

When I’m not modelling or writing articles, I can usually be found in my studio working on my novels (I’ve written two) or painting. I also haunt my local coffee/art shop, which has pistachio hot chocolate, baklavas and some very naughty paintings!
I plan to write forever but I know that modelling has a shelf life so when nobody wants to see me in latex any more, I hope to have a degree in zoology and a career in nature. One of my greatest achievements has been meeting David Attenborough and not screaming like a fangirl!

At the moment, I have a lot of projects in progress- I’m planning tours all over the UK and hope to fit in another Eurotour before my New York trip! I am about to submit a rewrite of my novel to the agent who gave me feedback for my last piece- and if my contortionism training goes well, I should be bending double by the summer!

I’ve been touring Scotland for the past ten days and as always, I love it. Most people hate train journeys, but for me it’s how I unwind. I spent the journey to Edinburgh watching the countryside rush past (with foxes, buzzards, horses and lambs), and it’s always a bit surreal seeing the huge yellow squares that are rapeseed oil fields.
I always stay in hostels as it can get terribly lonely travelling and I usually meet some lovely people. This time, I had fellow art model Ella Rose for company. I rarely get to meet other model/writers so we spent a lot of time chilling and discussing our novels. ;) I also met Fredau and the awesome Australian Cathy, who spent her 22nd birthday on the other side of the world. (See you in Berlin, lady!)
Want to see some pictures? I’m saving the ones from a particularly magical day for a future post, but here were some of my other haunts in Scotland…

I spent a day pretending to be a ghost in this abandoned building. (“Haunts”. See what I did there? :P)
The one on the right reminds me of the background to the painting “The Birthday”, by Dorothea Tanning. I don’t know why I find the painting so disturbing- I guess it’s in the implication or story that clearly isn’t being told. Her words about it are pretty mysterious!)

The beautiful view opposite the hostel, and a shrieky guest.

Went around Edinburgh Castle in the pouring rain with Ella Rose. Very wet and cold, but fun. I think I’ll go again in the summer!

We saw the Scottish Crown Jewels just after the picture on the right was taken. (Yes, I went there!) :P

Beautiful old graveyard

As Ella’s boots got well and truly soaked, we ended up shopping for suitable replacements. It’s fun shopping with friends who look and dress *completely* differently to you! Interestingly, we did like some of the same things and both of us came out with new stuff… (The photo on the right is me being a twerp while waiting for Ella). :D

I returned home to a lovely gift of David Attenborough DVDs from a fan! Thankyou so much- I will be sending a little gift in the post next week. :D
If you are a fan and would like to send me a gift (I have “wishes” beginning at £3.50), I have a wishlist HERE!

I already have some pictures from Scotland, but that’s another blog. Have some new pictures from my day shooting at Stuart House in Cornwall!
Photos by Jan Bassett
Hair/make-up by me

As I have a very curvy body and long hair, I stay away from the glamour genre as I’m just not a fan, therefore I rarely shoot in lingerie unless the shoot has a very strong vintage pin-up  feel. However, I thought I’d try something new here and went for the art-nude/commercial poses, but in lingerie.

I am liking this new leg muscle I seem to have found. :)

And of course, I wanted to go all bendy, so I did!


I’ve been thinking a lot about travelling recently. I am planning to come to Wales in July. If you are based in or near Wales and you would like me to visit or are interested in booking a photoshoot, please get in touch.
Also on my list is a Germany tour (everywhere except Berlin, basically!) and I’m planning to return to the Netherlands too.

I still have free dates on my Ireland tour!
I’m free on June 16th, 17th, 19th and 20th and can be in Dublin or Belfast, or nearby if you are able to pick me up! :D

Speak to you all soon,

ROSWELL xxx

12 Responses to “So much news… and flexy progress (3)”

  1. kathtea May 22, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Maybe you could drop by Malaysia along with Anita, perhaps in late 2013? I would really love to model with you ladies!!! Perhaps an art nude shoot with us competing at our highest levels of grace and flexibility? You would hands-down be the top though haha

    You’re looking nice in those lovely lingerie, have you kept up with The Lingerie Addict lately? Apparently there’s this Polish line of bras made for larger breasts and oh my they are so pretty! http://thelingerieaddict.com/2012/05/full-bust-bras-poland-ewa-michalak-kris-line.html

    It would be nice if the two of you dropped by and I could show you the best places to shop :P

    • roswellivory May 29, 2012 at 9:53 am #

      That would be awesome- just need to see where my travels take me! At the moment, it looks as if I will be in Australia and New Zealand next year, depending on funds.

      Thanks- I love that blog! I always try on my bras before buying them as I have very strange proportions in that area (very small back and very large breasts) so the wrong size or even style can be painful for me. :S I’d love my breasts to be that little bit smaller just so that I could wear standard sizes.

      I’ll definitely let you know if I make it to Malaysia!

      xxx

  2. leewlynch May 22, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Wow! Where to begin, much love for your work and for your adventures! I would love a trainride through Scotland!
    I read your iMoshe article and loved it! I relate to the first life drawing experience. When our first model dropped her robe, the whole class was just dead silent and faces went beet red.
    As with the modeling, we got used to it though. In our case I think part of the initial discomfort was in the fact that our model was drop-dead gorgeous. Avoid gawking, deep breath, calm down…and draw..hehee :)

    • roswellivory May 29, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      Hi there! Thankyou so much! :D
      I’m glad you like my article- I’ve been asked to write for them again so will be sat at my laptop all week as I have so much writing to do! :D

      • kathtea May 30, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

        I think there are brands out there that offer smaller band sizes with larger cups…

        • roswellivory May 30, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

          There definitely are- there are just some styles that are uncomfortable for me as well. I’ll have a look- or go and visit Poland so I can try stuff on, lol! xxx

      • kathtea May 30, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

        Whoops was meant to reply to your reply to me! :P

  3. Romantic Dominant May 23, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    I am lost for words. A rare state ….

    • roswellivory May 29, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      Lol! Thanks- that’s a huge compliment coming from you :D

  4. Liddy May 29, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Gosh! You have been busy! Amazing photographs as always! Well done on becoming bendier! With poses like that you’re an artists dream! It’ll be interesting if you can still do those poses when you’re 80 =P

    And I don’t think you come across strangely in the passage you wrote – you come across as very lively and witty but in the third person it does sound a little odd! =P

    xxx

    • roswellivory May 30, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      Lol! Yes indeed- I’m very much enjoying being at home and catching up on my writing, e-mails… and Game of Thrones ;)
      If I can still do this when I’m 80, I’ll laugh my head off and join a geriatric circus. At the moment, I’m just hoping to model until I’m 30!

      That’s nice of you- I got a bit worried that my joking and silliness got lost in translation and sounded as if the mag was ridiculing me a bit. Maybe not then. :)

      xxxx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

