Round the twist!

26 Apr

Have you ever- ever felt like this? How strange things happen, are you going round the twist? ;)
(virtual sticker for anyone who gets it! Clue- you probably grew up in the 90’s…)

It’s been a week of strange little things happening…

- A couple of days ago, I got my first ever Daily Deviation on http://www.deviantart.com! Click the link here!

- Then I was mistaken for a man.
Go through the comments on the image- someone asked if I was a dude!
Yep. Me, of the 28FFs. The next day, while I was still shaking my head in disbelief, IT HAPPENED AGAIN!!! (O_O)
I was in my favourite little coffee shop (which also has pizza) and a server was walking around with a yummy-looking pizza, calling for “Christopher”. I had my coat and bag on and was about to leave, but waved and jokingly said “me! I’m Christopher”! The pizza was thrust into my arms, while I stammered “nonono I’m not really called Christopher!!”
Oh dear.
I think I’ll go and take up flower-arranging.

- I also got some very exciting news yesterday- my Lady Justice picture by Matt Frederick (below- and you should click the link and check out his other work) is going to be on a Californian wine bottle for a year!!! I don’t drink, but may have to start…

- I realised recently that Sky Arts are playing Cirque du Soleil shows on Sunday lunchtimes! It’s been great fun stretching while actually watching one of the best circuses in the world (that I still have to see live!) Very very inspirational- “Zed in Tokyo” is the next one, and it was “Ka” a weekend ago (which is my favourite so far- there was no stage floor- everything was done on two huge moving platforms).

As the weather’s been hideous for the past week and I’ve had a horrible cold, most of my outdoor shoots were cancelled so I’ve been spending my time curled up reading Game of Thrones* (which rocks) and stopping gang violence in a fictional city (aka writing my second novel “Saving Bailey”).
Oh, and watching the falcons in the cathedral. :D They’ve had four eggs and they’re due to hatch any time really from now until the first week of April! There’s a live webcam so you can watch them HERE. Poor things must be so bored- they’ve been sitting around for weeks!

I can’t wait for my Scotland tour to start! Once again, I’ve been so booked in Edinburgh that I haven’t had a chance to go to Elgin or Aberdeen yet, but one day
I only have one half-day left now- it’s May 15th, and I’ll be available in Glasgow until 4pm. If you’d like to book me, let me know asap by contacting me through my website here.

I’m also going to be available in Ireland from June 11th until the 21st. I’ll do a proper blog post about this soon- I’m already booked until the 16th!
If you’re based around Dublin or Belfast, and would like to book a photoshoot with me, let me know!

Anyway, I have some more pictures (suitably twisted) from the fantastic Carl Grim (and a certain fan of mine may like these images too!)
The strappy outfits are made by me. :)


If you look at the negative space, it kind of reminds me of the Ace of Spades card!

It’s funny, I have always hated my legs- they’re very muscular/big from years of gymnastics and karate, but I actually really like them here!


I love the sculptural feel of these last two!

I’m off to write…

ROSWELL xxx
p.s. If you liked Game of Thrones, you might like…
– The Name of The Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss. (This guy rocks… but but the sequel in paperback. The hardback copy is the size and weight of a brick)
– The Wayfarer Redemption Trilogy, by Sara Douglass. (Wars, incest and interesting creatures… kind of like Game of Thrones, really!)
– Lord of the Rings, by JRR Tolkien (well, duh…)

Anyone else got book recommendations?

24 Responses to “Round the twist!”

  1. Hannah Ashlea April 26, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    “If all the king’s horses and all the king’s men,
    Couldn’t put me back together again…..
    I’d say…

    Rain, rain, go away,
    Come again another day!”

    May I please get my virtual sticker? Is it in the shape of a lighthouse? <3

    • roswellivory April 30, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      LOL!!! *looks for a sticker* Bloody image won’t post as a link! I’ll put it on my next blog…

      p.s. have you come across Elyse Sewell’s Livejournal? (ANTM series 1) She has some hilarious commentaries on Hong Kong and modelling :D

  2. Romantic Dominant April 26, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    I have just died and gone to heaven.

    You are a goddess.

  3. Anita De Bauch April 26, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    Harness love! And I’m so glad to hear about the wine bottle as that is one of my very favourite pictures of you! xo

    • roswellivory April 30, 2012 at 8:57 am #

      Eep! Thanks… And thanks again!
      When am I seeing you next? I’ve forgotten what you look like. :P

      xxx

      • Anita De Bauch April 30, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

        Haha whenever you’re next in London or I’m in Norwich! Feeling like slightly less of a hermit/ sloth now xxo

        • roswellivory April 30, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

          Yay for your de-hermitisation! I’m in London on May 21st (free after my shoot), and possible May 22nd and 23rd as well before I go airporting. xxxx

  4. Frivolous Monsters April 26, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Those birds looked terribly windy. Congratulations on the wine.
    FM

    • roswellivory April 30, 2012 at 7:58 am #

      I know! I worry about them. I know they usually nest on cliffs and they’re absolutely fine but still, her feathers were going the wrong way!! :S
      Much calmer day today- and I think there’s going to be a hatching…. :D

      Thanks about the wine- very excited!

  5. Allen Palmer April 26, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    raymond e feists riftwar books are quite good reads or the black magicians trilogy forgotten author at mo but will post when it comes back to me

  6. Liddy April 27, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    Haha! I loved watching that programme! Those crazy Australians up to their supernatural antics! I love your legs! They’re strong physically and from an artistic point of view, Scrawny, skinny chicken legs are not nice at all really. Your right about those photos looking like sculptures – you have the same sort of shape as one of those Roman or Greek statues of very curvy ladies from myths and legends! Only your poses are a little more kinky than theirs’ were!

    The pizza guy was probably feeling a little stressed so would’ve mistaken even the shapeliest of women for a man! Thanks for the bra size details, just to make us all feel a little more jealous =P

    You’re not the only one who has been called names! I was called a whore the other day by a really old, fragile looking lady because I was wearing a floaty summer dress! Pah! Just because her prime years are over!

    Cirque du Soleil are great! I remember when they came to Vienna last year =]

    Keep writing! It’s always great to read your posts! =D

    xxx

    • roswellivory April 30, 2012 at 9:06 am #

      Ooh, you get a sticker too :D
      I loved the cabbage patch episode, and the “without my pants” one LOL!!!

      Thanks, that’s really lovely of you. I’m trying to like them more now that I’m losing weight, but it’s taken a while. I like visiting the Greek section in the British Museum – those ladies would totally have been nude models if cameras had been invented!

      LOL! That’s bonkers- it amazes me that people seem to think they can insult people in the street. I always confront them as they usually shut up the second they realise they’ve been rumbled! ;)

      Oh wowwww. I’m jealous! Did you go and see them??

      xxx

  7. Khaerukama'o April 27, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    I’d characterise the SoIaF series as leaning towards ‘tragedy’, which is rather rare in fantasy, the closest related series I’ve read are:

    The Book of Words trilogy by JV Jones – more magic (one of the protagonists is a sorcerer), a fair dose of misery, but not quite of the same full-on ‘tragedy’ grade. Features some political power-play machinations akin to SoIaF.

    The First Law trilogy by Joe Abercrombie – darkly comedic gritty action, with some characters equally as twisted as everyone’s favourite Imp.

    The Inheritance Trilogy by NK Jemisin – not really ‘tragic’ or ‘gritty’, but does have a much stronger focus on character relationships than standard fare… so, actually, barely a tenuous connection to GoT, but worth a mention as a fellow deviant from the standard fantasy formula.

    You could also google the character who’s name I’ve used – good fantasy trilogy, but no strong GRRM link.

    • roswellivory April 30, 2012 at 8:24 am #

      Ooooh! Thanks for all the recommendations! I’ve got two tours coming up and as I read at the speed of light, I always need a supply of books with me. :D

  8. dreamelectric May 3, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    I love the strappy outfits you made! Do you sell them at all, or just make them for your shoots?

    • roswellivory May 8, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      Thankyou so much! I have not planned on selling any, but may do in the future as I’ve had quite a lot of interest! ;) xx

  9. Bink May 8, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    I wants to shoot strappy outfits *stomps feetsies* pleases? x

  10. Alexander May 8, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    First off, I must say that you, Miss Ivory, are absolutely stunning. That being said, If you find you like the Wayfarer Redemption Series you might also try Sara Douglas’ Troy Game Series. Rather nice blend of mythology in semi modern applications. I found it to be quite a decent read. A shame that she passed she was an incredibly gifted writer.

    • roswellivory May 9, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      Thankyou so much- that’s very lovely of you! :)
      Ooh, I haven’t got round to reading those yet, though I’ve read most of her other work. I didn’t know she had died! That’s so sad! :((((((

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

