The Abstract

19 Jan

I’m having a quiet month at the moment while I work on writing, but I still have some shoots (and a fitting for a lingerie company!) coming up. I also made my debut on Beltbound on Sunday.

Writing-wise, I’ve just published an article with Univers D’Artistes and it’s all about abstract art-nudes. Go and have a look- you can see some of my favourite pictures there as well. :) (My next piece is going to discuss wherther genital photography can ever be artistic.)
I’ve been waiting to post that particular article on art-nudes because it goes so well with the rest of my photos from Allan Schaap (in the Netherlands)!  The first set (taken in a woodland)  are in a previous post HERE. I can’t say enough what a great time I had in Lelystad where we were shooting! It’s a part that was reclaimed from the sea and has a desert in the middle. It was such a surprise to see it after leaving the leafy woodland and reminded me a little of the ‘dead’ planet in Pitch Black!


See!?


I could see the desert a few feet away!


Washed here by the ghosts of waves…

And then we found a log!


There’s something very strange/eerie about this set that I like- maybe it’s because you can’t see my face. Definitely some of my favourite art-nudes that I have done- and I’d love to do more on a similar theme. Can you tell I have a ‘thing’ for abstract(ish) art-nudes at the moment?? ;)

This is Allan and Joyce photographing me photographing them photographing me…

 

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. Did I mention I communicated with The Greys? ;)

………..

18 Responses to “The Abstract”

  1. David Long January 19, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Beautiful work as always Roswell. Don’t envy you being naked and rolling around in the sand though.

    • roswellivory January 20, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

      LOL!!! Thanks! I think I updated FB at the time along the lines of “nipple exfoliation” :S

  2. Y||B January 19, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    I think there should be a whole series on photographers making photographs

    • roswellivory January 20, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      Sounds like a cool idea- I’m planning to take more behind-the-scenes photos for my blogs :)

  3. Dave January 19, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Hey these abstracts are very nice indeed! I’ve always been in both camps as to which make the better art nude – the abstract or the ones where you can see the full emotion in the face of the model. Both have their places, so to me I take each one on their individual merits and go from there. The one of you lying with your back following the curve of the log is certainly one of the best abstracts I’ve seen in a long time!! Much kudos to you and the photog :)

    • roswellivory January 20, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

      Thanks! Like you, I think it depends.
      And thankyou- I think it is also one of my new favourites! :)

  4. Bob Johnson January 19, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    Loved the article. Very cool.

  5. Romantic Dominant January 19, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Extraordinary woman

  6. KathTea January 20, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    LOVE the art nudes! I’m doing my first art nudes on the 28th, pretty excited :D

    It’s always nice to go for new themes, abstract is undoubtedly awesome most of the time :)

    By the way, I’m pretty impressed at how your tattoo always ends up invisible in pics… Is it the make-up or photoshop or both?

    • roswellivory January 20, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

      Thanks! Good luck for your shoot- you’ll rock it. I’m loving your latest pictures too :D

      Lol! Sometimes, I move so that it is just hidden (or cover it if I’m asked to) but a lot of the time it is photoshopped. I always tell photographers they are welcome to leave it or photoshop it- whichever they want. You can *just* see it in one of the “log” shots.

      xx

      • KathTea January 20, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

        Thanks for the well-wishes and compliments!

        Hoping to move on to latex and fetish soon :)

  7. Anita De Bauch January 23, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    Absolutely love #5. Would totally hang it on my wall <3

    • roswellivory January 23, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      Ooh, glad you found the article! Sorry I forgot to send you the link. I love her work though I think my favourite one is #1 :D xx

  8. James Thorpe February 14, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Those abstracts are absolutley beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

