Eurotour: Part 4

28 Oct

And so my Berlin trip continues! As a shoot or two got postponed and Tom came to be a tourist for a weekend, I had the chance to:
– Try Bubble Tea (amazing stuff. Want some now)
– Eat yummy Indonesian lunch with Matthieu Richardoz and WildAtHeart
- Stay at the Propeller Island Lodge Hotel
– Eat strudel and Haagen-Dazs
– Visit the Neue Museum (it has the bust of Nefertiti in it)
– And snuggle cute things

So have some more Berlin…

Outside at the Neue Museum: (I would have loved to shoot here but sadly it is so busy here that it would have been impossible.)

Inside the Museum! (Not allowed to take photos of Nefertiti, but she was very pretty- and had one white eye :D )

This is ancient Assyrian (I think!) I’d love to be able to read it- check out the writing!

We went into Potsdamer Platz for some food and instead found huskies! Even people I know who don’t like dogs in general make an exception for huskies. :)

Who can resist a huskyball?

THIS is where we stayed. Seriously, open the link and check out the rooms. They rock.

When Tom headed back to the land of Cheddar, queues and wonderful wonderful Marmite, I went to stay with the lovely Nina Ann and her adorable cat Mitzy who purrs at 100 decibels and eats attention like my cat Mog eats tuna.

We rocked a pub quiz (Oh yes, we knew our Rocky Horror Show), had amazing cocktails and ate toasted sandwiches. It was really really nice to be able to hang out with friends again after staying a week in a hostel- I’d had an attack of the lonelies. :(

On my last day in Berlin, I went with a new American friend (Hanna) to sightsee- and discovered Tacheles. It’s a former Nazi/SS hangout that has now become an artists commune. It is about seven storeys high, covered in graffiti (arty graffiti) and each room houses an artist or three, and a lot of beautiful things for sale. (Sadly I was not able to buy- I had a health emergency and had to spend precious euros on a doctor, but I WILL be back next year for that fish necklace.) They even had a teeny garden for people to make huge metalwork sculptures!
Seriously, it is an amazing place. If you’re going to/currently in Berlin, it’s almost opposite the Synagogue.
 

These pictures don’t do it justice so click on the link above.

I added something… ;) And yes, it is a London tube map- I couldn’t find my notebook. (I really NEED that “fantastical creatures” origami book I saw in Waterstones…)

Me being acquainted with a real German:

I was sad to say goodbye to these guys: (L-R: Nina, Hanna, Me)

And snugglebunch here:

These two pictures illustrate how I saw Berlin better than anything I can say:

Everything is so beautiful, but so much of it is covered in bullet holes. You literally cannot escape the history behind the place (not that you’d want to- but you can’t). Everything that isn’t big ,ancient and majestic is bohemian and (eco-) friendly. (Like the “improved” traffic light.)
If I could live anywhere that isn’t England, I’d pick Germany at the moment- and probably Berlin. I’m planning to tour the whole country next year so if you’re a German photographer and interested in booking me, it’s never too early to get in touch.

So, I moved on to Amsterdam- which comes in my next post. But then I came back to Germany (Mulheim) for a day to shoot with Hart-Worx. It was only a few days ago but I already have a picture back!

Beep…beep…beep…beep…beep…

Photographer: Hart-Worx
Designer: HMSlatex (Custom)
Make-up/wig: Me

More on their way- we shot lots of gorgeous outfits and I sloshed make-up and hair stuff about. I love getting the chance to style myself! :D

Here are a couple of behind-the-scenes pics from our last set:

The location:

Practising poses:

Why do dogs *always* gatecrash my shoots??

Am I above bad pony puns?
Neigh.

ROSWELL xxx

p.s. Yesterday, I had one of the best days of my life. Until someone I think highly of told me I’m pessimistic. :/ I don’t think I’m pessimistic but just in case, here’s a list of things that have made me happy/laugh recently.

- Seeing wild boar for the first time (and the biggest herd of deer I’ve ever seen)
– Trying to mime “red squirrel” to a Dutch photographer who didn’t know the word in English
– Beginning my second draft of my second novel “Saving Bailey”
– Being e-mailed by one of my best girls with a party invite, saying it would mean a lot if I could be there (thanks Amy!)
– Seeing windmills (even though I get the song about the little mouse in old Amsterdam in my head Every. Single. Time.)
– A very immature joke about singing in the shower (If I know you IRL, you’ll be subjected to it soon enough)
– Reading Bill Bryson’s “A Short History…” and recognising names (I wanted to be a palaeontologist when I was little)
– New nude photos (you’ll see them soon)
– Having a fascinating and argument-free conversation about religion/censorship with a new friend.
– Seeing someone fold a bike in half on the train. I’d never seen it done before!

Happy enough??

If not, I challenge anyone not to smile after seeing this.

19 Responses to “Eurotour: Part 4”

  1. usedlaptops1 October 29, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Just Wow. What a fantastic place.

    • roswellivory October 30, 2011 at 9:12 am #

      I know! It rocks :D Missing Germany already.

  2. David October 29, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Great photos – sounds like you really made the most of your time in Berlin. One of the great perks of the job. Have fun, be safe, keep taking great photos.

  3. kathtea October 30, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    Love the pony boots! I am possibly getting myself one in the coming few months woot! :D

    And who could resist doggehz LURVE them so much. Ooh you should shoot with them some day.

    • roswellivory October 30, 2011 at 9:17 am #

      Lol, thanks- pony boots rock. And actually, I may well be shooting with a dog soon. (He looks like a fox).

      • kathtea October 30, 2011 at 9:35 am #

        I heard pony boots are easier to move in than ballets right?

        • roswellivory October 30, 2011 at 9:43 am #

          I find them easier and a lot more comfortable but am not sure about everyone else :)

      • kathtea October 30, 2011 at 10:04 am #

        Well, I guess the only way to find out is to try them on my own :) I wish I could afford that Pirate Photography Calendar…

        • roswellivory October 30, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

          Awww! I haven’t seen it yet! Should really start pimping it… ;)

  4. kathtea October 30, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Ooooh just noticed to mentioned Bubble Tea. They are sold in every mall in my country. Hell, even sidewalks! But in malls there’s at the very least 2-3 different stalls selling them.

    Well, at least I think that’s the same bubble tea you speak of. They include little chewy jelly bubbles right?

    • roswellivory October 30, 2011 at 9:18 am #

      NO FAIR!!! Want Bubble Tea. Yes it’s the same stuff :D It hasn’t caught on properly in England yet

  5. Anita De Bauch October 30, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    x

  6. Romantic Dominant October 30, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Your posts are a joy.

  7. Lee Lynch November 2, 2011 at 5:48 am #

    I would love to go to Berlin sometime! I’m very excited for you to experience it, and the photos are so cute!

    I love your work here and at DA (HammerOfTHorr)

    • roswellivory November 2, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      It’s an amazing place- you’ll love it. And thankyou- that’s lovely of you. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

